

Sugarcane Diseases Quarantined Areas

7 C.F.R. § 301.87-3 Last updated: December 29, 2022

- a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b) of this section, the Deputy Administrator shall list as a regulated area in paragraph (c) of this section, each quarantined State, or each portion thereof, in which a sugarcane disease has been found by an inspector or in which the Deputy Administrator has reason to believe that a sugarcane disease is present, or each portion of a quarantined State which the Deputy Administrator deems necessary to regulate because of its proximity to a sugarcane disease or its inseparability for quarantine enforcement purposes from localities in which a sugarcane disease occurs. Less than an entire quarantined State will be designated as a regulated area only if the Deputy Administrator is of the opinion that:
 - 1. The State has adopted and is enforcing a quarantine or regulation which imposes restrictions on the intrastate movement of the regulated articles which are substantially the same as those which are imposed with respect to the interstate movement of such articles under this subpart; and
 - 2. The designation of less than the entire State as a regulated area will otherwise be adequate to
 - 3. prevent the artificial interstate spread of a sugarcane disease.
- b) The Deputy Administrator or an inspector may temporarily designate any nonregulated area in a quarantined State as a regulated area in accordance with the criteria specified in paragraph (a) of this section for listing such an area. Written notice of the designation shall be given to the owner or person in possession of the nonregulated area and, thereafter, the interstate movement of any regulated article from the area shall be subject to the applicable provisions of this subpart. As soon as practicable, the area shall be added to the list in paragraph (c) of this section or the designation shall be terminated by the Deputy Administrator or an inspector, and notice thereof shall be given to the owner or person in possession of the area.
- c) The areas described below are designated as regulated areas;

Hawaii

All of Hawaii.

Puerto Rico.

All of Puerto Rico.