2021 Deputy Administrator's Safeguarding Award: Giant African Snail Eradication Team

On September 30, 2021, as a result of joint efforts of USDA's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS), APHIS declared the eradication of the giant African snail (*Lissachatina fulica;* GAS) from Florida and removed all quarantine areas for GAS. This is the culmination of the program's work that resulted from the 2011 reintroduction of GAS, which is the most damaging snail in the world. The team managed to prevent GAS from infesting nurseries and getting spread beyond Florida, further protecting American agriculture from this highly invasive pest which feeds on more than 500 types of plants all over the country.

The success in eradicating GAS was partly due to the pivotal collaboration among APHIS, Agricultural Research Service, FDACS, the municipalities within Miami-Dade and Broward counties, the county governments, homeowners' associations, landscape companies, nurseries, and the public, which enthusiastically supported the goal of eradicating the snail. This operation strengthened relationships across government agencies like the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Postal Service, State departments of agriculture, and industry partners, enhancing the safeguarding efforts of all the organizations now and in the future. As a result of this effort, APHIS now has a framework for successfully responding to re-incursions of GAS and introduction of other terrestrial snails. These actions support APHIS' mission to deliver an efficient, effective, and responsive program resulting in the significant reduction of regulatory burden. These actions exemplify APHIS's mission to safeguard American agriculture and natural resources.

Team Members

Aaron Beaumont	Daniel Merced	James Hayden	Louis Volpe	Richard Miranda
AJ Wilson	David Davis	James Lee	Magdony "Irene" Guzman	Richard White
Alicia Lawrence	David Ortiz	James Mason	Maria Cruz	Robert Balaam
Amy Roda	David Robinson	James Snyder	Maria Garibay	Robert Shim
Andrew Wilds	Denise Hamm	James Walker	Maria Zuniga	Roger Gayle
Angela Ortiz	Edgardo Luiggi	Jason Stanley	Marieta Figueroa	Ron Ridgway
Anthony Dunn	Eduardo Solis	Jean Bonnet	Martha Diaz	Ronald Rojas
Anthony Man-Son- Hing	Eduardo Varona	Jeanie Frechette	Martha Garibay	Rosamaria Quinones
Anthony Puppelo	Elena Kej	Jeffery Strong	Mary "Janie" Echols	Sallie Simmons
Aragod Dawkins	Elijah Talamas	Jeremiah Ortiz	Mary Yong Cong	Scott Burton
Arturo Montilla Nolasco	Elsie Aviles	Jeremy Gilbert	Matthew Brodie	Scott Krueger
Ashraff Hosein	Eric Rohrig	Jodi Daugherty	Melinda Sullivan	Scott Weihman
Bobbe Rose	Ernesto Alvarado	John Serra	Michael Banaszek	Selina Estrada
Bryan Benson	Evelia Sosa	Johnny Yates	Michael Bentley	Serena Stornaiuolo
Calvin Shuler	Foday Conteh	Juan Menendez Torres	Michael Mulligan	Sharon Hayes
Carlos Aguilera	Francisco Borrero	Julio Rodriguez	Michael Weiss	Sheila McMahon
Carlos Averhoff- Chirino	Fred Zimmerman	Justin Emerson	Michelle MacDonald	Sherry Steele
Carlos Cambana	Gangadai Azore	Justin Ezell	Miguel Hernandez	Sherry Williams

Carlos Martinez	Gary Bear II	K. Cecilia Sequeira	Miryam Briceno	Stephen Jenner
Carolina Reece	George Schneider	Katherine Fairbanks	Monica Errico	Steve Hildebrandt
Carolyn Duever	George Warden	Kathryn Shepard	Nicole Bill	Suhayla Carrasquilla
Carrie Karppe	Georgeanne Paris	Katrina Dickens	Nubia Tapias	Susan Halbert
Catherine Marzolf	Glen Gardner	Kevin Golden	Patricia A. Parker	Susan Youngblood
Charles Davis	Gloria Gonzalez	Kristian Rondeau	Paul Hornby	Sylvia Valdez
Charles Gonzalez	Greg Hodges	Lance Brown	Paul Skelley	Thomas Lastrapes
Cheryl Jones	Gregg Farina	Lane Smith	Ramon Montalvo	Tinene Frazier
Chris Tolbert	Gregory Rosenthal	Larry "Mo" Violett	Randall Dean	Trent Adamson
Christina Chitty	Harry Morrison	Leann West	Raymond Jarrett	Trevor Smith
Christine Zamora	Harvey "Rusty" Noah	Lee Ann Inkel	Rebecca Harn	Tyler Shaw
Ciro Milian	Haydee Escobar	Lee Cornman	Reinaldo Casanas	Tyson Emery
Clarissa Maroon- Lango	Haylett Cruz-Escoto	Leroy Whilby	Reuben Sibert	Virginia Villarreal
Craig Southwick	Holly Hughes	Linda McRay	Ricardo Ocasio- Rodriguez	William Newton
Cresandra Anderson	Howard Wallace	Lisa Blakey	Rich Tordi	William Salway
Daisy Cook	Jake Farnum	Lisa Hassell Tyler	Richard Blaney	Willie Cooper
Daniel Greco	James "Eddie" Anderson	Lorenna Dewitz	Richard Bloom	Yen Crawley