2022 Deputy Administrator's Safe Trade Award: High-Quality Specialty Grain Team

The High-Quality Specialty Grain Team designed and implemented a new inspection program for high-quality specialty grain exports to Japan. These exports constitute hundreds of millions of dollars per year for U.S. farms and exporters. The High-Quality Specialty Grain program aided in preserving the market while enabling smaller, low-yield producers to meet Japan's new phytosanitary certificate requirements. The team's coordination across multiple government agencies prevented disruption to a well-established and successful soybean export market.

The team's strategic partnership with the Specialty Soybean and Grain Alliance enabled the identification of eligible participants, verified facility and pest management capabilities and provided appropriate training.

The program was activated in March 2023 and had eight facilities ready for compliance agreements and an additional 11 pending requirement completion.

While the program is currently limited to specialty soybean, it is designed to allow expansion to other high-specialty grains and export destinations, potentially saving industry costs and government resources.

Team Members

Bob Bishop Marcu McElvaine
Laney Campbell Matthew Messenger
Christian Dellis Arthur Neal
Susan Emmert Sophie Parker
Geroge Galasso Michael Perry
Anthony Goodeman Byron Reilly
Lisa Kohl Karla Whalen