## 2022 Deputy Administrator's Safeguarding Award: Karnal Bunt Domestic Program Team

Wheat is one of the most important staple crops worldwide, and the United States is one of the world's leading exporters. The Karnal Bunt Domestic Program Team issued three Federal Orders that reduced the regulated area by 49 percent in one year, lowering the risk to domestic wheat growers, businesses that harvest, transport and store wheat, exporters, and trading partners. This is a major step toward full deregulation of Karnal Bunt. Three fields that had been regulated for more than 20 years were released based on this team's fresh look at the science of *Tillita indica* teliospore survival in relation to crop production practices.

The Karnal Bunt domestic program safeguards the health and value of the 1.6 billion bushel and 47 million acres of wheat produced across the United States, valued at \$11.9 billion. This team enabled the uninterrupted commerce of wheat throughout the United States and international markets.

## **Team Members**

| Sajedul Islam      | Kristian Rondeau                                                                      |
|--------------------|---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Jamie Legg         | Gary Russell                                                                          |
| Stephen Roe Lewis  | Nelson Semidey                                                                        |
| Robert Miguel      | Maria Sisson                                                                          |
| Alec Ormsby        | Becky Van Cleave                                                                      |
| Nancy Osterbauer   | Michael Wallace                                                                       |
| Jack Peterson      | William Yoder                                                                         |
| Shailaja Rabindran |                                                                                       |
|                    | Jamie Legg Stephen Roe Lewis Robert Miguel Alec Ormsby Nancy Osterbauer Jack Peterson |