2019 Deputy Administrator's Safeguarding Award: Multiagency Infested Sea Container Response Team

The Multiagency Infested Sea Container Response Team coordinated a rapid response to inspect 1,000 military containers within days. This action prevented the establishment and spread of various invasive pests in the United States including Asian gypsy moth, Noctuidae, sawflies, and snails. The team developed an efficient inspection process that ensured they fully inspected each container. The Team intercepted approximately 85% of Asian gypsy moth egg masses on the underside of containers. The team also discovered infestations on 274 containers and collected over 396 suspect pests. Once identified, the Multiagency Team acted quickly to stage and treat 196 containers where they had collected actionable pests, preventing their establishment and spread in the United States.

These containers were scheduled to depart the military base for locations throughout the country. By taking action and acting quickly, the Response Team was able to mitigate the risk of pests establishing in the local area as well as throughout the United States. The pests the Team intercepted can cause significant damage to American agriculture and eradication of these pests poses a huge economic cost. In addition to protecting our natural resources, the Team ensured that the U.S. military could move clean containers containing important cargo to their destinations as quickly as possible, minimizing disruptions to the Department of Defense. This operation strengthened the relationships between Plant Protection and Quarantine, Customs and Border Protection, the Department of Defense, and the State, enhancing the safeguarding efforts of all the organizations now and in the future.

TEAM MEMBERS

Plant Protection and Quarantine

Mr. Joseph Beckwith

Ms. Abby Stilwell

Mr. Charles Citrone

Ms. Carla Coots

Mr. Timothy Stevens

Ms. Sheena Goundie

Ms. Catherine Wills

Ms. Alyson Bendzinski

Mr. Gregory Cottingham

Ms. Joann Curfman

Mr. Christian Russe

Mr. Alberto Umpierre-Juarbe

Mr. Jonathan King

Ms. Laura Jeffers

Mr. Yunke Wu

Ms. Marjorie Palmeri

Ms. Kendra Vieira

U.S. Customers and Border Protection

Mr. Jim Kelley

Ms. Rayme J. Ortega

Ms. Courtney B. Clewis

Ms. Lindsey Lukowski

U.S. Department of Defense

Mr. Michael Fuller

Mr. Spero Pekatos

Mr. Steven W. Kerr

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Ms. Joy Goforth

Ms. Ann Gallagher

Mr. David Pearce

Ms. Jensen McLamb

Mr. Scott Cannady

Ms. Whitney Swink

Mr. Jarred Driscoll

Ms. Allison Ballantyne