## Breadcrumb

- 1. Home
- 2. Print
- 3. Pdf
- 4. Node
- 5. Entity Print

## Representatives Named to Advisory Board for U.S. Department of Agriculture's Wildlife Services Program

## **Print**

A diverse panel has accepted U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Thomas Vilsack's invitation to serve on the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (NWSAC). The 20 members, including four returning advisors, were named in early March. The NWSAC advises the Secretary on recommendations for policies and activities for the USDA's Wildlife Services (WS) program.

The NWSAC membership represents a broad range of agriculture and wildlife interests. Nominees are selected to represent program stakeholders including academia, airport safety, farming and livestock producers, and state wildlife agencies, among other interest groups. The NWSAC serves as an open forum for diverse interests to have a voice in the policies, guidance, and strategic planning for WS.

## The NWSAC appointees are:

- Andrew Prosser, Industry/Producers (MS)
- Bernard Joseph Petersen, Industry/Producers (NV)

- Burton Patrick Pfliger, Industry/Producers (ND)
- Calvert Curry Campbell, Industry/Producers (TX)
- Catherine Denise Urbigkit, Industry/Producers (WY)
- Christopher William de Nijs, State/County Government and Associations (CA)
- David Lynn McEwen, Industry/Producers (MT)
- Ellary Tucker-Williams, Non-Government Organization (ID)
- Dr. Harry Owen Snelson, Non-Government Organization (NC)
- James E. Higgins, Airport Wildlife Management (FL)
- Jennifer Anne Sherry, Non-Government Organization (MT)
- Dr. Jerrold Lowell Belant, Academia (MI)
- Dr. John Michael Tomecek, Academia (TX)
- Joseph A. Kipp, Industry/Producers (MT)
- Dr. Mark Dean Smith, Academia (AL)
- Dr. Michele Walsh, State/County Government and Associations (ME)
- Ronald James Regan, State/County Government and Associations (MD)
- Dr. Sherri Wilson Russell, State/County Government and Associations (MO)
- Suzanne Asha Stone, Non-Government Organization (ID)
- William Bowman Seeley, Non-Government Organization (MT)

Committee members are appointed for a 2-year term and can serve up to three consecutive two-year terms. Reappointed members include: Urbigkit, Prosser, McEwen, and Regan.

As a commitment to transparency and accountability, WS established the NWSAC in 1986. By re-chartering the NWSAC in early 2022, USDA recognizes the valuable public forum it has provided for more than 35 years, enabling those affected by the WS program to have a voice in its policies.

Annual meetings of the NWSAC allow the public an opportunity to participate and provide input to the Secretary of Agriculture on overall policy and guidance for the operation of the WS program, resources to accomplish the WS mission, impacts of depredating wildlife, public health and safety problems created by birds and other wildlife, and research activities and priorities to address wildlife damage management needs. The newly reconstituted advisory committee is planning to meet in the fall of 2023, with details forthcoming.