Plant Health Quadrilateral Group

The Plant Health Quadrilaterals Group (Quads) is a strategic coalition composed of the National Plant Protection Organizations (NPPOs) of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United States. It is not an official treaty organization, but an informal alliance.

PPQ works with the Quads countries to:

  • coordinate priorities and positions for IPPC standards
  • promote and secure international collaboration in various areas of plant protection
  • influence the work of the IPPC and the future development of standards, including international phytosanitary policy and emerging issues
  • collaborate in the area of science and technical information exchange, including technical resources, such as diagnostic technologies

Over the past year, the Quads finalized and approved its strategic plan and terms of reference. The Quads also progressed work on implementation and joint APPPC and NAPPO workshops on wood and surveillance.

The Quads’ priorities for standards are:

  • electronic certification and hub concept
  • risk management
  • determination of host status
  • wood handcrafts
  • grain
  • sea containers

For more information about the Plant Health Quadrilaterals Group, please contact Stephanie Dubon, Deputy Technical Director of International Phytosanitary Standards at


Complementary Content