Skip to main content

U.S. flag An official website of the United States government

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
USDA FAQ's and resources about coronavirus (COVID-19).  LEARN MORE

European Union WPM Requirements

Effective March 1, 2005 the European Union required all newly assembled, repaired or recycled unprocessed raw wood packaging materials (hardwood and softwood) entering the EU to be either heat treated or fumigated and officially marked under ISPM15. In addition all wood packaging material is required to be debarked and marked DB. However, due to continuing issues surrounding the EU debarking requirement U.S. wood packaging materials will not contain the DB symbol.

Hardwood and softwood used to wedge or support non-wood cargo (dunnage) is required to be either heat treated or fumigated and officially marked under ISPM15 OR if not treated and marked be bark free and free from signs of live pests. After December 31, 2007 all dunnage will be required to be treated and officially marked under ISPM15. Wood packaging materials including dunnage less than 6 mm and processed wood produced from glue, heat, and pressure or a combination thereof ( i.e., Oriented Strand Board, plywood, etc) are exempt from treatment and marking.

For questions pertaining to treatment and marking of WPM under the Heat Treatment and fumigation programs contact the American Lumber Standard Committee (ALSC) at 301-972-1700 or one of the accredited agencies listed at the ALSC website. Questions pertaining to where HT lumber may be purchased, how to become certified, costs pertaining to enrollment, required marks etc. may be directed to the ALSC or any of the inspection agencies.  

EU member states include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the Vatican City State (Although not European Union member states, Albania, Montenegro, and Switzerland also follow the European Union requirements.)

To search for another Country's requirement:

Complementary Content