Skip to main content

U.S. flag An official website of the United States government

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
USDA FAQ's and resources about coronavirus (COVID-19).  LEARN MORE

Plant Health Technical Bilateral Meetings

Due to the current global coronavirus disease (COVID-19) situation, APHIS is not able to hold in-person plant health technical bilateral meetings at this time. To continue mission critical work, APHIS is using virtual engagements with trading partners to continue making progress on phytosanitary topics.

The following schedule is tentative and subject to change.

October 2021

  • U.S. - South Korea Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, October 12 and 13
    Contact Lisa Kohl for details, lisa.m.kohl@usda.gov
  • U.S. - South Africa Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, October 14
    Contact Hesham Abuelnaga for details, hesham.a.abuelnaga@usda.gov
  • U.S. - European Union Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, October 19 and 20
    Contact Prakash Hebbar for details, prakash.hebbar@usda.gov
  • U.S. - Taiwan Plant Health Technical Meeting, virtual, October 28
    Contact Amanda Kenney for details, amanda.m.kenney@usda.gov

November 2021

  • U.S. - Japan Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, November 9 and 10
    Contact Lisa Kohl for details, lisa.m.kohl@usda.gov  
  • U.S. - Mexico Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, November 17
    Contact Eric Longen for details, eric.c.longen@usda.gov  

December 2021

  • U.S. - Canada Plant Health Bilateral Meeting, virtual, December 8
    Contact Fan Wang-Cahill for details, fan.wang-cahill@usda.gov

The Phytosanitary Issues Management (PIM) staff requests stakeholder input in developing agenda items for upcoming Plant Health Technical Bilateral Meetings. To provide input, please send email to the contact listed above. The meetings are an opportunity to acquire, expand, or maintain export and import agricultural markets by:

  • Exchanging information about specific commodities.
  • Amending current phytosanitary requirements based on updated information.
  • Documenting agreements made and next steps.
  • Establishing time frames for completion of items/resolution of issues.
  • Establishing joint working groups to explore and resolve issues of mutual concern.
Complementary Content
${loading}