Skip to main content

Latin America and Caribbean Region

  • Belize, Belmopan
  • Costa Rica, San Jose
  • Trinidad & Tobago, Port-of-Spain
  • Bolivia, Santa Cruz
  • Dominican Republic, Santo Domingo
  • Uruguay, Montevideo
  • Brazil, Brasilia
  • Ecuador, Quito
  • Chile, Santiago
  • Haiti, Port-au-Prince


  • Colombia, Bogotá
  • Peru, Lima


The USDA, APHIS Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) Region has its headquarters in Bogota, Colombia and comprises all countries within Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. The mission of the Regional Office is to provide technical leadership, management and coordination of; zoosanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) trade issues, safeguarding US agriculture, oversight of cooperative animal disease eradication and control programs, and promoting safe trade in agricultural commodities through capacity building and technology transfer as well as addressing the regulatory aspects of biotechnology, animal welfare and wildlife management.  Our office also maintains direct contact with industry trade groups, importers and exporters in order to assist and facilitate resolution of trade-related issues as they occur at ports of entry.

In addition to the LAC Regional Office in Bogota, Colombia, USDA-APHIS has Foreign Service Officer-manned Area Offices in Lima, Peru; Brasilia, Brazil; San Jose, Costa Rica; Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic as well as Port-au-Prince, Haiti.  APHIS Foreign Service Nationals also oversee agency issues from APHIS Offices Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago; Panama City, Panama; Quito, Ecuador; Santa Cruz, Bolivia; Santiago, Chile and Montevideo, Uruguay.

The Bogota Regional Office is responsible for the countries of Colombia and Venezuela. The Lima Area Office is responsible for Chile, Ecuador, and Peru. The Brasilia Area Office is responsible for the countries of Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Bolivia, Paraguay, Guyana, and Suriname. The San Jose Area Office is responsible for the countries of Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. The Santo Domingo Area Office is responsible for the all the countries of the Caribbean; Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Dominica, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.


Regional Organization

Regional Manager - Marc Gilkey


Complementary Content