Skip to main content

U.S. flag An official website of the United States government

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
USDA FAQ's and resources about coronavirus (COVID-19).  LEARN MORE

Special Emphasis Observances

Under Public Laws, Congress authorizes the President of the United States to issue annual proclamations designating certain days or months as national observances.  Memoranda of support are issued by USDA or Agency Heads and endorsed by the Agencies.  Special observances are designed to broaden the understanding of the heritage and recognize the contributions and achievements of all Americans to the American culture.  Where appropriate, other specially-designated community activities that particularly affect minorities, women, and people with disabilities and that support the civilian EEO program are observed.  Among such events recognized are:  

  • African American Heritage History Month (February)
  • Women's History Month (March)
  • Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month (May)
  • LGBT Pride Month (June)
  • Caribbean American Heritage Month (June)
  • Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15)
  • Disability Employment Awareness Month (October)
  • Native American Heritage Month (November)
  • National Veterans Day (November)


Complementary Content