Skip to main content

Competitive Selection Process


Two types of competitive selection procedures commonly used in the federal government are delegated examining and merit promotion. Both procedures may be used to issue job announcements for one job vacancy or multiple job vacancies.

 Delegated Examining: Used to fill job vacancies with candidates from the general public and candidates from within the federal workforce. Individuals who do not have competitive status, as well as federal employees with competitive status, can compete for a permanent appointment under this process. Applicants who meet qualification requirements are rated and ranked using job-related competencies or knowledge, skills and abilities (KSA's) and eventually given numerical scores. Applicants who are entitled to veteran's preference have either 5 or 10 points added to their numerical score.

Also referred to as: Case examining, OPM recruitment, external recruitment, competitive examining.

 Merit Promotion:

Used to fill job vacancies with candidates who have career or career-conditional status. Candidates are usually current or previous federal employees with reinstatement eligibility. In addition to qualification requirements, applicants must meet time-in-grade requirements in order to be eligible for consideration. Applicants are rated using job-related competencies or KSA's.

Also referred to as: Internal recruitment, merit staffing.


Complementary Content