Skip to main content
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
USDA FAQ's and resources about coronavirus (COVID-19).  LEARN MORE

Category I and II Animals

Be sure that the Accreditation Category you have chosen is appropriate for the animals with which you’ll be doing accredited duties.

Category I animals: All animals except: food and fiber species, horses, birds, farm-raised aquatic animals, all other livestock species, and zoo animals that can transmit exotic animal diseases to livestock

Category II animals: All animals

If you need to change your Accreditation Category, please submit VS Form 1-36A to your local NVAP Coordinator. If you are authorized in more than one State, you need only send the form to one NVAP Coordinator and your Category will be updated in all of the States in which you are authorized.

Here are some examples of Category I and Category II animal species. These lists are not exhaustive, and if you wish to add a species, please email

Category I animal species examples: dog, cat, laboratory animal (rat, mouse, gerbil, guinea pig, hamster), non-human primate, rabbit, ferret, mink, gopher, hedgehog, native non-ruminant wildlife, and marine mammal.

Category II animal species examples: food and fiber animal species (cow, pig, sheep, goat, honey bees, turtles raised for food, all ruminant), horse (mule, ass, pony, zebra), all bird species and poultry, farm-raised aquatic animal species, livestock species (bison, captive cervid, llama, alpaca, antelope, other hoofed animal), zoo animals that can transmit exotic animal diseases to livestock.

Still have questions?

Export requirements frequently change, obtain the current export requirements from the VS Service center in your area before each shipment.

For NVAP questions, see Additional Information or contact your local NVAP Coordinator.

Complementary Content