Skip to main content

Designated Ports

Ports designated for exporting Animals from the U.S.

Ports designated for importing*  Animals or Animal Products into the U.S.

If your import requires a permit from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), please check the list of USFWS designated wildlife ports. Not all ports designated by the USDA are USFWS designated ports.

Imported animals and animal products requiring permits from both USDA and USFWS, must use a port that is designated by both agencies unless permission is obtained in advance to use a non-designated port.

Air and Ocean Ports:

Los Angeles (California)
Miami (Florida)
Newburgh (New York)

Canadian Border Ports:
Eastport (Idaho)
Jackman, and Houlton (Maine)
Detroit, Port Huron, Sault Ste. Marie (Michigan)
Baudette (Minnesota)
Raymond, and Sweetgrass (Montana)
Alexandria Bay, Niagara Falls/Lewiston, and Champlain (New York)
Dunseith, Pembina, and Portal (North Dakota)
Derby Line and Highgate Springs (Vermont)
Oroville, and Sumas (Washington)

Mexican Border Ports:
Brownsville, Hidalgo, Laredo, Eagle Pass, Del Rio, and Presidio (Texas)
Douglas, Naco, Nogales, and San Luis (Arizona)
Calexico and San Ysidro (California), and Santa Teresa (New Mexico)

Limited Ports:
Anchorage and Fairbanks (Alaska)
San Diego, San Francisco (California)
Jacksonville, St. Petersburg-Clearwater, Tampa (Florida)
Atlanta (Georgia)
Honolulu (Hawaii)
Chicago (Illinois)
New Jersey
New Orleans (Louisiana)
Portland (Maine)
Baltimore (Maryland)
Boston (Massachusettes)
Minneapolis (Minnesota)
Great Falls (Montana)
Dayton (Ohio)
Portland (Oregon)
San Juan (Puerto Rico)
Memphis (Tennessee)
El Paso, Galveston, and Houston (Texas)
Seattle, Spokane, and Tacoma (Washington)


Complementary Content