State Regulations for New Mexico

State Regulations for New Mexico

 

 


Health Requirements Reguarding the Importation of Animals
For more information on current regulations please contact:

New Mexico Livestock Board
300 San Mateo, NE, Suite 1000
Albuquerque, N.M. 87108
Telephone: (505) 841-6161
Fax: (505) 841-6160

 

*** GENERAL REQUIREMENTS ***

Health Certificate Requirements:

An official health certificate is required for all animals entering the state (see individual species listing for details).

Exception:

Steers and non-test eligible cattle from brand states where a brand inspection certificate is sufficient.

Relation to Federal Requirements:

All livestock must meet Federal Requirements.

Permits:

A prior entry permit is required for all cattle, swine, sheep and goats.

Obtain Permits:

Obtain a permit by telephoning (505) 841-6161 from the hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, or (800) 468-6884 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Mountain Time, evenings and weekends.

Failure to obtain a prior entry permit constitutes a violation of the New Mexico permit law and the shipper is subject to prosecution.

***CATTLE***

Brucellosis:

A.) All Classes of States

Cattle originating from any Brucellosis Certified Free herd may enter New Mexico provided the following information is recorded on the official health certificate or brand certificate from a brand state IF ALL ONE BRAND:

  1. Individual identification of each animal
  2. Herd certification number
  3. Date of last herd test

B.) Brucellosis Free States

All cattle must meet Federal Interstate Regulation requirements for Class Free States in addition to New Mexico requirement. Health certificate or a brand inspection certificate from a brand state IF ALL ONE BRAND.

C.) Class A States

All females and bulls over 18 months of age must be tested and negative within 30 days prior to entry into New Mexico. All heifers presented in their third trimester if pregnant must be tested regardless of age or vaccination status.

Exceptions:

  1. Heifers officially vaccinated for brucellosis (OCV) and under 24 months of age if “beef”, and under 20 months of age if “dairy.” Unless in third (3rd) trimester of pregnancy.
  2. Above testing or vaccination is not required when going direct from a farm of origin to a federally approved slaughter plant for slaughter, or to a New Mexico quarantined feedlot or when going to an approved market where the qualification for brucellosis will be handled at the market.

All cattle must meet Federal Interstate Regulation requirements for Class A states in addition to New Mexico requirements.

D.) Canada

  1. All cattle over 18 months of age entering from Canada must have a negative brucellosis test, within 30 days of entering.
  2. All test results from Canada are to be faxed directly to the New Mexico Livestock Board (505) 841-6160.

E.) Commuter Cattle

  1. Must have a Commuter Herd Permit number and health certificate number or brand inspection.
  2. No Brucellosis Testing required.

    They are to contact the inspector within 2 days of arrival between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m., and they must have a copy of the Arizona, Colorado, or Texas inspection to give to the New Mexico Livestock Inspector.
  3. Need Commuter cattle number on our permit.

Tuberculosis:

A.) All import dairy cattle (except steers and spayed heifers) 12 months of age and older must have a negative Tuberculin test within 30 days prior to entry regardless of the status of the state of origin or herd of origin. (We do not recognize TB Free Herds or states.)

B.) Canada - All cattle over 12 months of age imported from Canada must have a negative TB test within 30 days prior to entry with the test results faxed directly to the New Mexico Livestock Board (505) 841-6160.

C.) Michigan - Special Regulation

All cattle, beef and dairy, regardless of age must have a negative TB AND must be quarantined upon arrival in New Mexico and will not be released until a negative Tuberculosis test is completed 60 - 90 days after entry.

Scrapie:

Import requirements will vary. Specifics will be given at time request for entry permit is made.

Navajo Indian Reservation:

In addition to the New Mexico permit, permission for cattle to be consigned to this reservation should be obtained from the General Superintendent’s Office, Window Rock, Arizona (520)871-6701.

***AUCTIONS***

Dairy cattle going directly from the farm to auction at Portales Livestock or Pecos Valley Dairy, can be T.B. tested and bled upon arrival.

***HORSES, AND OTHER EQUIDAE***

  1. No prior entry permit required, unless Coggins Test is Pending.
  2. Accompanied by an official health certificate. Certificate shall show breed, registration number, if any, tattoo number, if any, sex, age, colors and markings of each animal listed.
  3. Negative Coggins test within 12 months prior to entry is required, of all equine 6 months of age or older. The results, date of the test, and the name of the laboratory must be noted on the health certificate.

***RODEO STOCK***

All horses, mules, etc., need a negative Coggins test within 1 year of the event. Bulls need a negative Brucellosis test within 1 year of the event. All animals need a health certificate within 30 days and prior entry permit. All stock entering a rodeo grounds for rodeos and roping are subject to import inspection, the same as any imports.

***SWINE***

All swine must be accompanied by an approved certificate of veterinary inspection, showing individual identification; and must originate from a herd or area not under quarantine. All swine must have a prior entry permit from the New Mexico Livestock Board. All certificates must certify that the swine have not been fed raw garbage.

All swine must be identified with an official ear notch (1-3-9-27-81 system), metal, or plastic tag; these are the only acceptable means of inspection. Swine consigned direct to Specifically Approved Feedyards (Quarantined feeding facilities) or recognized slaughter establishments are not required to meet the Individual Identification requirements.

Pseudorabies

Show Swine:

2000 NEW MEXICO 4-H AND FFA SHOW SWINE REQUIREMENTS

All exhibition swine must have a New Mexico Livestock Board Form S-1 prior to entering any show. To obtain a Form S-1 the following must be met:

IN-STATE:

  1. If pigs are from New Mexico (born and raised in NM): Bill of Sale with face picture and ear notches marked.

OUT-OF- STATE:

  1. If pigs are from Stage I, II, or III States, the pigs must come from validated free and qualified herds. Health Certificate and Entry Permit required.
  2. If pigs are from a Stage IV State and not from a validated free and qualified herd, the pigs must be bled and tested negative prior to arrival into New Mexico and again within 30-45 days after arrival into New Mexico. Health Certificate showing test and an Entry Permit are required.
  3. If pigs are from another Stage V State, there are no required tests. Only a Health Certificate and an Entry Permit.

Please call our office for an import number prior to entering New Mexico with pigs from out-of- state. For Form S-1 contact your local inspector just like last year.

Please Note: Swine from a Stage IV State only have to test twice, the first test prior to arrival into New Mexico and second test again within 30-45 days after arrival into New Mexico. This 2nd test must be completed prior to having a NM Livestock Inspector issue a S-1 Form.

***NO TEST PIGS ALLOWED FROM***

Texas, Indiana, Nebraska, Iowa,

OR

Any Other "CLASS I, II, OR III STATE

All health papers on out-of-state pigs shall include the statement that there has been no commingling of qualified free swine with swine from sources not qualified.

OUT-OF-STATE SALES:

All pigs at the sale must be from validated free and qualified free herds AND NO COMMINGLING AT SALES.

Breeding Swine:

Any Breeding Swine must meet the following requirements.

  1. From a class free, Stage V state, no testing required. Entry permit and health certificate required.
  2. From Stage four (IV) state and not from a validated or qualified herd must be tested negative within thirty (30) days prior to arrival, and again thirty (30) to forty-five (45) days after arriving in New Mexico. Entry permit and health certificate required.
  3. Stage I, II, and III states must originate from a qualified or validated herd or test negative within thirty (30) days prior to arrival, and be tested twice with negative results after arrival at thirty (30 to forty-five (45) days intervals. Entry permit and health certificate required.

All swine (feeders and breeders) from qualified or validated herds must show date of last test and herd certification number on health certificates.

Feeder Swine:

Feeder Swine must meet the following requirements for pseudorabies to enter New Mexico.

  1. From class free- Stage V (no testing required). Prior Entry permit and health certificate required.
  2. From Stage Four (IV) state and not from a validated or qualified herd must test negative prior to entry into New Mexico, and again thirty (30) to forty- five (45) days after arrival. Entry permit and health certificate required.
  3. From Stage I, II, or III states must come from a validated or qualified herds. Entry permit and health certificate required.

Brucellosis:

All swine regardless of age (except those from a Swine Brucellosis Free State), must prove negative to a brucellosis test conducted within 30 days; or originate from a brucellosis validated herd, date of last test and herd certificate number to indicated on the approved certificate of veterinary inspection.

***SHEEP***

Prior entry permit and official health certificate required with the following information listed:

  1. To be free of Scabies and contagious Ovine Ecthyma (Sore Mouth) and foot rot.
  2. To have not been exposed to Blue Tongue within 30 days of movement.
  3. Breeding rams shall be certified as individually examined and free of gross lesions of Ram Epididymitis.
  4. Scrapie:

All sheep entering New Mexico except commuter sheep and slaughter sheep must have the following statement signed by the owner, owners operation or agent from the state of origin on the Health Certificate:

“The sheep on this certificate originate from a flock in which scrapie has not been diagnosed in the last five years and has not been identified as a trace or source flock and there is no evidence of exposure to scrapie.”

In addition Medium Wool or crossbred breeding sheep must be individually identified with an eartag or tattoo (paint brands are not acceptable) and the ID written on the health certificate.

***GOATS***

Prior entry permit and official health certificate required.

Dairy Goats: All goats 6 months of age or older, must prove negative to a brucellosis and Tuberculin test conducted within 30 days prior to entry and health certificate.

***POULTRY AND HATCHING EGGS***

A.) Poultry - General

Must have an official health certificate issued within 10 days or VS form 9-2, indicating flock is actively enrolled in NPIP program

Health certificate must state:

  1. Free of evidence of contagious disease.
  2. Tested negative for Pullorum Typhoid within 90 days or originated from flocks or hatcheries meeting Pullorum Typhoid requirement of NPIP.

B.) Poultry - 4 months of age or younger & hatching eggs

No health certificate if from NPIP or equivalent hatchery. Must have VS Form 9-3 or USDA Form 17-6.

C.) Exhibition Poultry

  1. Must have tested negative for Pullorum Typhoid within 90 days and have results recorded on form VS 9-2 or official form from state of origin, or
  2. Be from NPIP Pullorum Typhoid free flock with VS form 9-2.
  3. If qualifies in number 1 or 2 above, no health certificate needed.

***PSITTACINE BIRDS***
Health Certificate

***BISON***

  1. Health certificate and prior entry permit.
  2. Must have a negative test for brucellosis and Tuberculosis within 30 days prior to entry. Permit and health certificate must accompany shipment. (Test age, 12 months and over.)
  3. In addition see General Requirements for both Cattle, and Zoo, Fur-Bearing and Other Wild Animals.

***CAMELS, LLAMAS, ALPACAS and VICUNAS***

  1. Health Certificate and prior entry permit.
  2. All sexually intact animals (12 months of age and older), must have a negative test for Brucellosis within thirty (30) days prior to entry.
  3. All animals (12 months of age and older), must have a negative test for TB within 30 days prior to entry.
  4. Entry Permit and health Certificate must accompany shipments. (Test age is 12 months and over.)

***ZOO, FUR-BEARING, AND OTHER WILD ANIMALS***

A PRIOR PERMIT IS REQUIRED FROM THE New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, Villagra Building, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503. Telephone: (505) 827-7897. A negative Coggins test is required on Zebras, within 12 months.

Deer, elk, antelope and buffalo (bison) must have a negative test for brucellosis and tuberculosis within thirty (30) days of entry. Permit and health certificate must accompany shipment.

***DOGS***
No prior entry permit required.

Health certificate showing rabies vaccination within 12 months of entry for dogs 3 months of age or older.

***CATS***
No prior entry permit required.

Health certificate showing rabies vaccination within 12 months of entry for cats 3 months of age or older.

***RABBITS***

Health Certificate

***SEMEN AND FROZEN EMBRYOS***
Must meet Federal Interstate Requirements.

***BIOLOGICS, MICROORGANISMS, AND PARASITES***
Must meet Federal Interstate Requirements.

***EMERGENCY PROVISIONS***
Must meet Federal Interstate Requirements.

***IMPORTATION OF RATITES***

Ratites (Ostriches, Rheas, Emus, Cassowaries and Kiwis) imported into New Mexico must have:

  1. A prior entry permit
  2. A negative test for Avian (AI) within 30 days prior to shipment.
  3. Individual identification of birds.
  4. A Certificate of Inspection made within five (5) days of shipment by an accredited Veterinarian.
 
Complementary Content
${loading}