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1.0 Mission Statement

1.1 Friends of Sound Horses, Inc. [FOSH]

The organization is incorporated in the state of Delaware as a nonprofit, nonmember, public benefit
humane and education organization. Its purpose is to provide information to the public about the
humane care, treatment and training of gaited horses, with a special emphasis on the Tennessee
Walking Horse, and to promote the exhibition of the flat shod walking horse at competitions
designed to showcase the natural gaited pleasure walking horse.

1.2 Members of the FOSH Board and advisory boards serve as unpaid volunteers and assume their
own personal expenses for such service. Some costs for official travel on behalf of the corporation
may be reimbursable should the finances of the corporation allow for such reimbursements. Those
who agree to work with FOSH do so for altruistic purposes and for the protection of horses and
education of the general public.

1.3 In addition to a circuit of independent shows across the country, a judging program -
Independent Judges Association [IJA]. FOSH has an established an inspection program - FOSH
Inspection Program - staffed with trained and certified experts whose purpose shall be to ensure that
the provisions of the Horse Protection Act [HPA or the Act] and its regulations are reliably and
impartially fulfilled and who shall be known as Designated Qualified Persons [DQPs] when

operating in the field. DQPs have no enforcement authority other than as is delegated by the USDA
for inspections at shows, sales, and exhibitions where they have been assigned as part of a contract
affiliation program entered into by a show, sale, or exhibition manager and FOSH.

1.4 FOSH sees its relationship with the USDA as one of partnership in ending the illegal practices
of soring and pressure shoeing in the equine industry, as outlined in the Horse Protection Act [Act],
while providing safeguards for compliant exhibitors by ensuring that horses that are unfit to enter
the show ring are not placed in competition.

1.5 FOSH has been certified by the USDA to inspect horses and write citations for violations of the
Act. The legal responsibility to enforce the Act rests solely with the USDA and is not a responsibility
that can be delegated to any non-federal/ non-governmental agency or organization.

1.6 All reference to HPA or Act in this document and any supporting materials incorporates by
reference the Horse Protection Act (Act) and the Horse Protection Regulations (Regulations). Any
conflict that may exist between this document and the provisions of the Act and Regulations shall
be resolved by relying on the terms contained in the latter as the more authoritative document.

2.0 Administrative Requirements

2.1 Applications

Application to become an FOSH DQP must be made by filing a formal application in writing to FOSH.
Applicants must be 21 years of age or over. When the application has been completed and returned,
accompanied by the application fee, the applicant will be scheduled for training. All applicants are
required to take a written examination at the conclusion of the training session. Application and/or training
fees are non-refundable. Training for prospective DQPs takes place only once each year. Refresher
training [a minimum of 4 hours] for previously licensed DQPs may be scheduled throughout the year, but
should take place before the commencement of the new show season.



2.2 Training and Licensing
Training for individuals wishing to obtain a DQP license will consist of at least 14 hours of classroom
instruction and practice as prescribed by the Act.

While the FOSH Inspection Program has no intention of affiliating events with ‘padded’, ‘banded’ or
‘stacked’ horses, FOSH DQPs are still required to know and understand the full requirements of the HPA
including those regulations that apply to events that would include these type of entries.

An applicant who receives a mark of 85% or better on their written examination and who successfully
completes an apprenticeship program will be licensed as a DQP for FOSH. Formal training, as well as
human relations and oral expression skills, will be considered in the licensing procedure.

An individual holding a DQP license with FOSH will be subject to mandatory annual continuing education
courses of not fewer than four hours of instruction each year in order to retain a DQP license.

DQP licenses will be issued for a period of not more than one year through the period ending March 31st
of the succeeding year. Licenses may be renewed on an annual basis each March 1st, by invitation to
reapply. FOSH reserves the right to refuse to renew any DQPs license upon its expiration. Violations of
the HPA will result in immediate revocation of the license of any DQP licensed with the program.

FOSH also reserves the rights to suspend or revoke any DQP license for the following causes:

o The individual fails to attend mandatory annual training Conviction for any felony; conviction,
including misdemeanors, for any form of inhumane treatment to animals, not restricted to
equines.

o The appearance at any time on a Federal Suspension List or the suspension list of a USDA
certified HIO for any violation of the federal Horse Protection Act, applicable to all breeds.

A DQP license will also be revoked if an individual demonstrates a lack of competence, skill, integrity, or
cooperation with the public or with USDA personnel while officiating as a DQP in the field. A DQP’s
license may also be revoked, at the discretion of the FOSH board of directors, if a DQP’s conduct has
been found to be detrimental to or in conflict with the principles and policies of FOSH.

Licenses revoked by FOSH will not be reissued to DQPs whose license has been revoked and persons
in this category may not apply for re-licensing or re-training. Evaluations of the performance of FOSH
DQPs at events will be solicited from show management, FOSH Inspection Program administrators,
FOSH DQPs, FOSH Board members, exhibitors and spectators. These evaluations will be reviewed with
the individual DQP as appropriate in order to assure that a uniform and consistent inspection process is
being carried out.

2.3 Payment of Fees

Candidates for an initial license as a FOSH DQP will be required to become members of FOSH prior to
being issued a license and an initial training fee (to be determined) for the 14 hour training course.
Renewal of licenses will take place each March 1st and will require renewing the individual’'s FOSH
membership and the payment of the then current renewal fee which includes the necessary refresher
training materials. Payment of all fees is required before a new or renewal license is issued.

2.4 Identification in the Field

All DQPs assigned to events will be required to wear at all times an identifying shirts issued by FOSH.
They will be required to carry on their person a license that will include their picture, their name and
signature, and the name and address of the licensing organization. These licenses are the property of
FOSH Inspection Program and must be surrendered upon termination with the program or revocation of
license. Additional uniform shirts may be purchased, as well as an optional DQP uniform hat.



2.5 Expenses Incurred While Apprenticing

FOSH Inspection Program apprentice DQPs may, with the approval of other certified HIOs and the FOSH
Inspection Program administrator, apprentice with any program available to them. Apprenticeships served
with DQPs from other organizations must have a letter of recommendation written by the licensed DQP
and forwarded to FOSH Inspection Program. At least one of the required minimum of two events must be
apprenticed with a FOSH DQP. All expenses (including travel and lodging) incurred while completing the
apprentice program are the responsibility of the candidate for licensing and will not be reimbursed. FOSH
will try to work with the apprentice DQPs in an effort to minimize their travel and lodging costs.

The FOSH board of directors, may, from time to time, approve funding to assist with the costs of initial
training, apprenticeships, and/or continuing education.

3.0 Standards of Conduct

Because FOSH is chartered as a humane association, its officials, judges and those designated as
inspectors for the inspection program must be held to a high standard for protection of animals. They
must also be held to a high standard of ethical conduct when dealing with the public and with those who
train and exhibit show horses or who would sell or exhibit them.

Individuals licensed by FOSH as DQPs will enforce the rules of the FOSH Inspection Program, as well
as the requirements of the Act, without compromise and without exception. All inspections will be
conducted with consistency and thoroughness. The same procedures will be followed whether or not
USDA evaluators or Veterinary Medical Officers are present.

The enforcement of the Act is the primary responsibility of the DQP(s). However, at a FOSH sanctioned
show, FOSH DQPs will inspect for and enforce the shoeing requirements of the IJA judging program with
the full understanding of all parties — that the enforcement of the Act is of paramount importance. When
FOSH DQPs are hired by a show not sanctioned by FOSH, the DQPs will not normally be expected to
enforce the shoeing regulations of the particular event.

Any FOSH DQP, who is contacted with matters that could be considered ’inappropriate’ by an exhibitor,
trainer, owner or other interested party connected with a show or sale where the inspector has been
assigned by the FOSH Inspection Program administrator must notify FOSH Inspection Program
administrator immediately of the contact. Failure to do so will result in suspension of the DQPs license for
a period of six months from the date of discovery of the failure to notify.

Horses owned by the DQP, his employer, or by members of his immediate family, to include ex-spouses,
in-laws, or stepchildren or grandchildren, or by any non-related members of the DQP’s household may
not be inspected at any show where such a DQP has been assigned. This prohibition includes shows
where two or more DQPs are assigned and even where a non-related DQP would be available to inspect
the entries.

DQPs assigned to shows may not, for a period of 60 days before a show, be a guest in the home of any
exhibitor, trainer, or owner who plans to attend a show where the DQP will provide inspection services.
DQPs may not transact business of any sort, with any owner, trainer, exhibitor, relating to the equine
industry for 60 days before or after a show, exhibition or sale, where the DQP has been assigned as the
official inspector. As assignments are not necessarily known in advance, DQPs are required to advise the
program administrator before accepting an assignment, if the proposed assignment would conflict with
the above restrictions. Based on the particular circumstance, the DQP coordinator or the President of
FOSH may grant an exception to the above restriction when it would be deemed in the best interest of
FOSH - provided there would no conflict with the USDA regulations.



FOSH DQPs may not share meals with any person attending or competing in a sale or show other than
with APHIS officials or show officials, including judges, stewards, ring person, etc., who have no
connection with any horse presented in the ring or sales arena. DQPs will avoid all conversation of other
than a cursory or educational nature with exhibitors, spectators, trainers or owners before and during a
show or sale. DQPs are both permitted and encouraged to discuss HPA educational materials (to include
the Show manager technical note and scar rule pamphlet) with persons attending or exhibiting at the
event. DQPs will refrain from discussions with any show officials (including judges, stewards, etc.), on any
topic regarding exhibitors, participants, or their horses, which is not related to the inspection duties which
they have been hired to perform.

FOSH DQPs are to remember that any observations that they may make during the inspection process
are a matter that is to be kept confidential between the exhibitor(s) involved, show management, FOSH
officials, and USDA representatives. Any discussions of these observations outside of the requirements
of the Act and its enforcement needs, will be considered a breach of ethics and subject to disciplinary
action by FOSH.

3.1 Inspecting non-affiliated shows.

While there is no specific prohibition in the HPA or its regulations preventing a DQP from offering their
services - as a private individual - to show management, FOSH views this as conflict of interest that may
have adverse consequences for all parties concerned for many reasons including:
« Show management would not be protected if the USDA were to find that a ‘sore’ horse had been
exhibited.
« The individual involved may expose themselves and/or show management to potential liability
issues.
¢ The individual may also expose FOSH to potential liability because they hold a license issued by
FOSH.
e Even though the individual may not be wearing the FOSH uniform, they might still be viewed as a
FOSH DQP by exhibitors or spectators and as such, could have the potential of casting a negative
image on the entire program.

In light of these concerns, FOSH licensed DQPs will NOT be permitted to inspect or check horses for
show management at a show that has not affiliated with FOSH. Failure to abide by this restriction will
result in suspension of the DQP’s license for a period of six months from the date of discovery of the

incident.

3.2 DQPs may not render an unofficial opinion.

The USDA has advised that it is to be considered unethical for a DQP to render an opinion on a horse
anytime he/she is not engaged in their official inspection duties. DQPs' offering advice, either concurring
or disagreeing with that of the official DQP on duty, is a treacherous practice that can have adverse
consequences for all parties.



4.0 Scope of Authority

When FOSH has been hired as the inspection program for a show, exhibition or sale, all horses entering
the grounds become subject to the authority and the jurisdiction of the DQP for the entire duration of the
event to include set-up and tear-down. This authority extends to the barn areas, horses loaded or tied to
trailers, horses being loaded or unloaded, on or from trailers, warm-up areas, and preparation areas,
including cross ties, blacksmith shacks, and wash racks.

FOSH DQPs are empowered to inspect leg wraps, shipping boots, tack boxes, work boxes, all equipment
and stall and barn areas for substances considered to be illegal under the Act. Horses may also be
inspected in the barn, unloading areas, warm-up areas, or any place on the show grounds for compliance
with the Act as well as the rules of FOSH Inspection Program , the licensing body.

DQPs are empowered to require the custodian of a horse to lead the animal in question from an area to a
place designated as an inspection area. Custodians are required to remove or to have removed by a
farrier, wraps, or any equipment, including shoes, that the DQP deems necessary to facilitate a complete
examination of the horse. DQPs may also require the removal of all hoof dressings or coloring agents that
may conceal acrylics or other fixative or bonding agents that may exceed the amount allowed for normal
hoof repair.

DQPs may require any horse to report to the inspection area for additional inspections post show or at
any point during the event. At the conclusion of a class, the first place horse must return to the DQP.
Show officials and/or the DQP may also require that horses from other placings or horses that are
randomly selected return for a post class inspection. When USDA VMOs are on the scene, horses tied
first, second or third may be required to be re-inspected as part of the normal inspection procedure.

FOSH DQPs will also enforce FOSH and IJA shoeing regulations at FOSH sanctioned shows utilizing IJA
judges. Show management must recognize that the enforcement of the HPA is of priority, and that any
additional procedures may cause unavoidable delays.

4.1 The Inspection Area

Persons normally allowed access to the inspection area itself include the assigned DQP, DQP
apprentices, DQP clerical support, FOSH Inspection Program supervisors and evaluators, any
USDA/APHIS personnel, officials from humane associations, upon presentation of credentials, and the
exhibitor and/or handler. Inspection areas will not be curtained off so as to allow the general public a clear
view of the inspection area and its procedures.

Per the HPA, horses will be inspected no more than three classes ahead of the class where they will
perform — if there are 150 entries or more at the event, and no more than two classes ahead when there
are less than 150 entries at the event. Once inspected, horses will be confined to a holding area that may
be easily observed by both the DQP and APHIS representatives if on site. Once inspected horses will not
be permitted to leave the holding area until entrance into the show ring.

Horses which leave the designated area after inspection, but prior to exhibition or sale, will be subject to
re-inspection. A groom or assistant may join the horse and exhibitor in the designated holding area.
Work carts, tack trunks, grooming boxes, buckets and the like are not permitted in the holding or
inspection area. Aerosol cans, grooming products, or containers filled with unidentified substances are
not permitted in the holding or inspection area. All other items, such as towels or brushes, brought into
the inspection area or the holding area must be presented to the DQP for inspection. Once a horse has
been inspected and is in place in the designated holding area, no one may touch the lower limbs of the
horse, defined as the area from the knee to the hoof unless under the direct supervision of the DQP.



4.2 Inspection Procedure

While the inspection process is primarily focused on Tennessee Walking, Racking horses, and similar
gaited breeds; the Horse Protection Act does apply to all horses. When a FOSH DQP is present on a
show grounds for an affiliated show, all horses as required by the USDA and the HPA, will be inspected
for compliance with the Act and its regulations as amended and the rules of FOSH Inspection Program.
The following procedures are meant as a summary only. The inspection protocol and procedures as
established by the USDA and the Act will be followed during all inspections:

The horse must dismounted prior to the inspection and remain dismounted throughout the inspection
procedure.
The custodian of the horse shall stand in front of the horse and to the same side as the inspector
when the examination is occurring.
The physical examination must be performed on both forelegs of the horse and may be performed
on the rear legs at the discretion of the inspector.
The reins of the horse’s bridle, or lead strap shall be held loosely and no less than 18 inches from
the shank of the bit or 24 inches from the snaffle ring.
If a lead strap is used, the chain may not pass over the nose, over the lip, or under the chin. It must
be attached to the center ring of the headstall, not to the side hardware
The custodian must do nothing that would cause a false examination result (stewarding)
Prohibited behaviors include:

o Any signal or device

o Use of a whip

o Lighted cigarette or cigarette smoke

o Other techniques used to distract the horse such as might be used to steward a horse to

stand for inspection in training session(s) prior to being presented for inspection.

o If the DQP or APHIS personnel conducting the examination observe any behavior that they feel

constitutes stewarding or influencing the examination, the horse will be immediately excused from
the inspection area and the incident will be reported both to show management and to FOSH
Inspection Program.

o DQPs are to be fully aware of the need to protect themselves from unruly or fractious horses

presented for inspection. The DQP shall excuse any horse that is unruly, fractious, or exhibits an
unwillingness to stand quietly while his feet are lifted, when standing with feet on the ground, and
while he is examined by the DQP.

o Although inspections must be thorough, DQPs are required not to take an amount of time that

could be considered to be unreasonable for conducting a complete examination.

o DAQPs may carry out additional inspection procedures as he/she may deem necessary, to include

as an example the use of hoof testers if the DQP is qualified in their use or to request that the
show veterinarian or blacksmith apply hoof-testers, to determine whether a horse is in compliance
with the Act and the rules of FOSH Inspection Program .

o Other technology for detection of sored or pressure shod horses may be introduced into the

inspection process as directed by the USDA.

o The DQP may require the horse’s custodian to engage a farrier to remove the shoes to allow for

further examination if the DQP suspects that a horse’s hoof has been subjected to any shoeing or
trimming practice that can be reasonably expected to cause the horse to suffer pain, distress,
inflammation or lameness when walking, trotting, or otherwise moving. Removing shoes to verify
compliance with the Act shall be at the expense of the owner or exhibitor of the horse.



The minimum inspection procedure to determine compliance with the Act shall include the
following:

o Movement: The DQP shall direct the custodian of the horse to lead, walk and turn the horse in a
figure eight pattern around a set of cones or markers to allow the DQP to observe for signs of
soreness.

o Appearance: The DQP shall observe and evaluate the appearance of the horse to determine
whether the horse appears to suffer any physical pain or distress, inflammation or lameness
when walking, trotting or otherwise moving. The DQP will also look for evidence of prohibited
substances and/or prohibited or non-compliant paraphernalia or devices.

o Physical Examination: The DQP will perform a physical examination of the front legs of the horse.
This examination will include digital palpation of the pastern and fetlock area and begin by
examining the horse starting from the shoulder and moving down the leg. The DQP may also
carry out additional inspection procedures as set forth above as he/she deems necessary and
appropriate to determine whether the horse is in compliance with the HPA and its regulations and
the rules of this inspection agency.

o Conflicts: When the DQP is the only inspection authority on the show ground, his/her rulings are
definitive. In the event that USDA VMOs are present in the inspection area and a disagreement
about the condition of the horse arises, the VMOs decision will prevail.

o Conflict Resolution: Being that the VMO’s decision will prevail in all cases, there is no conflict
resolution process - the decision of the VMO regarding the condition of the horse is the final
decision.

o Point System: No point system will be used to establish parameters concerning degree of
soreness or other unsoundness for exhibition or sale. Failure in areas of palpation, locomotion,
other areas of physical appearance or examination, will all be documented as defined in the Act
and amended
regulations. A failure in any single element of the examination process is sufficient for
issuance of a violation citation.

4.3 Inspection Relative to Scar Rule Compliance

The following definitions are used with regard to the Scar Rule as it is outlined in the HPA.

Scar tissue. Any scar tissue such as button lesions, sweat cracks, moisture and/or localized swelling,
as well as chronic, old lesions, consisting of scar tissue, typically whitish in color, unable to be smoothed
out by pressure, occasionally exhibiting flaking of the skin, and showing no sign of irritation, moisture,
edema, pain, heat, redness, proliferating granulation or ulceration, are all prohibited under the existing
scar rule as written in the HPA and its amended regulations.

Bilateral granuloma. Tumor-like masses of granulation tissue (proud flesh or focal lesions) that
occur on both legs, usually as a result of chronic inflammation.

Bilateral evidence of abuse indicative of soring. Evidence of malicious injury or intentional
injury inflicted to both front and/or rear pasterns, or at any part of the leg and foot structure.

Edema. Collection of fluid within tissue. Localized edema is the collection of fluids within tissue

causing swelling, pain, and/or loss of function in or near the area where chemical or physical trauma
has occurred. Localized edema is considered a violation of the Act. In contrast, generalized edema is
not considered a violation of the Act. Generalized edema involves a greater portion of the extremity

and may be caused by such conditions as the application of tight bandages or injuries above the pastern
with the resultant movement of fluids gravitating to the pastern area.

Excessive loss of hair. Repetitive friction and/or pressure that has caused permanent injury to hair
follicles and unsightly areas of thinned hair and/or bare skin fits the definition of excessive loss of hair.



Inflammation. Signs of inflammation include, but may not be limited, to pain, heat, redness,
swelling, the presence of serum or pus, loss of function in front pasterns. Inflammation results when,
in response to an injury or the destruction of tissue by some means, the body attempts to dilute or to
wall off the injurious agent and the injured tissue. Inflammation can be either acute or chronic. It
may result in permanent tissue damage which is called scarring. Types of scarring not indicative of
the practices of soring are not covered under the HPA.

Irritation. The precursor to inflammation, irritation results from a reaction of the skin to abnormal
chemical or physical applications.

Moisture. Includes serum, pus, or blood. This can be a direct flow of moisture and/or oozing of
moisture out through the skin.

Pastern. The part of the leg that lies between the fetlock joint and the hoof.

Proliferating granuloma tissue. Growth of proud flesh that is usually the result of the body’s
unsuccessful attempts to repair tissues that are injured and/or infected. The proliferating granuloma
can create wart-like growths and/or abnormal thickening where the skin is corrugated, ridged or
thrown into cluster or exuberant [proud flesh] growth.

Uniformly thickened epithelial tissue. A thickening of skin that retains its smoothness such as in
a callous or corn.
o The pasterns and leg structure must show no evidence of bilateral granuloma, other bilateral
pathological evidence of inflammation, bilateral evidence of abuse indicative or soring or evidence
of intentional or malicious injury inflicted to both front pasterns or excessive loss of hair.

4.4 Additional Prohibitions and Restrictions

4.4.1. Any artificial extension of the length of toe, no matter how accomplished including the use of acrylic
or combinations of materials, that exceeds 50% of the natural hoof length, as measured from the coronet
band, at the center of the front pastern along the front of the hoof wall, to the distal portion of the hoof wall
at the tip of the toe, is prohibited. The artificial extension will be measured from the distal portion of the
hoof wall at the tip of the toe at a 90 degree angle, to the proximal [foot/hoof] surface of the shoe.

Toe length must exceed the height of the heel by 1 inch or more. The length of the toe will be measured
from the coronet band, at the center of the front pastern along the front of the hoof wall to the ground. The
heel will be measured from the coronet band, at the most lateral portion of the rear pastern, at a 90
degree angle to the ground, not including the normal caulks found at the rear of some horse shoes.
Caulks may not exceed 3/4 inch in length. The portion of each caulk at the rear of a horse shoe in excess
of % inch will be added to the height of the heel in determining the acceptable heel/toe ratio.

4.4.1.1. FOSH, in support of the sound horse, has enacted a maximum toe length, including the shoe, of
(47%) inches for FOSH sanctioned shows. A toe length greater than (47%) will result in disqualification from
the class.

4.4.2. The Regulations prohibit shoeing, trimming or the use of any method or device [such as vising or
contracting the heel] on a horse’s hoof in a any manner that causes such horse to suffer or can be
reasonably expected to cause the horse to suffer pain, distress, inflammation, or any degree of lameness
when walking, trotting or otherwise moving. This prohibition includes the insertion of any tack, screw, nail
or other device or substance other than acceptable hoof packing, between the horse’s hoof and its shoe
or pad [Pads are not allowed on flat shod horses]. If the DQP suspects that a horse’s hoof has been
subjected to any such practice, the DQP may require the horse’s custodian to arrange for the removal of
the shoes [pads or both] to allow for further examination. The removal of shoes must be done in the
inspection area. FOSH Inspection Program and the DQP bear no financial responsibility for the cost of
removing shoes or re-shoeing the horse at the conclusion of the examination.



4.4.3. Physical abuse of a horse that takes place within sight of the DQP will be documented and reported
to show management, local humane officials or district attorney with jurisdiction over animal cruelty in the
vicinity of the event, the breed registry which controls the particular breed, and the custodian of the horse
will receive a warning notice. In states such as Tennessee where the soring of horses is to be reported to
the state and to district attorneys, FOSH Inspection Program will prepare such reports for any horse
ticketed with an HPA type violation as a result of inspection.

4.4.4. Neither whips nor smoking materials of any sort are allowed in the inspection area.

4.4.5. Acrylic or other bonding materials used for repair of a damaged hoof on a flat shod horse must not
violate provisions of the Act.

4.4.6. The use of plastic wrap or similar product, at any time when the horse is arriving on a trailer, in a
stall on the grounds, or tied to a trailer, or at any point during the event is prohibited with one exception. A
horse may be wrapped in plastic with a veterinary certificate of need if injured while at the show grounds
or in transit. The certificate must be presented at the show office. Wrapping a horse in plastic for any
period of time means that the horse will not be allowed to participate in the event for its duration.

4.4.7. Alligator clips or similar devices used in any location on a horse’s body or private parts are
prohibited.

4.4.8. No device that produces any form of a ‘shock’ may be used on the grounds of the event.

4.4.9. Coloring agents like ‘Black Magic’ or ‘French chalk’ or similar substances are prohibited on any
Tennessee Walking horse or racking horse presented for inspection from the coronet band to the elbow
or stifle.

4.4.10. The natural markings of the horse may not be colored or concealed in any way so as to interfere
with identification of the horse as such markings appear on registration papers.

4.4.11. With the exception of protective devices such as un-weighted bell boots, splint boots, brushing
boots, or similar devices intended to protect the horse’s extremities in classes like TWH over fences,
dressage, trail obstacle, jumping, barrel racing, pole bending, and reining, no tape, wrap or polo type
bandages may be worn in competition.

5.0 General Rules

5.1 Affiliation

FOSH because of its status as a humane education organization, does not allow the use of action
devices on horses, nor the use of shoeing practices on walking or racking horses commonly referred to
as ‘built-up’, ‘performance shoes’ or ‘stacks’.

The FOSH Inspection Program will therefore make its services available only to shows, sales, or events
that are designated for the exclusive exhibition of flat or traditionally shod equines. Affiliation requires the
completion of the application received at least 60 days prior to the event. When the application is
received, along with the required payment of $50, the event will be listed with the USDA as affiliated with
the FOSH Inspection Program.

Show management is requested to complete the After event report as soon as possible following the
show.



In addition to the fees payable to FOSH that are noted above - show management is also responsible for
payment of the individual DQP(s) fees and expenses as outlined in 5.2

Should an organizer anticipate more than 150 horses (class entries) per day to be inspected at an event,
the Act requires the presence of at least two DQPs for the event. FOSH has been advised by the USDA
that this requirement is based on 150 entries per show day not a head-count of 150 horses. This
requirement is non-negotiable, directed as it is by the USDA, and not by FOSH.

5.2 DQP Fees and Expenses.

All fees and expenses associated with the use of a DQP at an affiliated event are to be borne by the
event organizer or organization. DQPs licensed by the FOSH Inspection Program and assigned to an
event, provide their services as contract labor through the FOSH Inspection Program. As such, individual
fees are to be agreed upon in advance between the individual assigned DQP(s) and the show organizer,
based on the following maximum allowable guidelines:

o DQP fee $225 per day

o Mileage at the IRS permitted rate. - not to exceed the cost of reduced price air fare (if available)
and ground transportation expenses from nearest airport to the event.

o Mileage to include transportation costs from home to the show grounds and from show grounds
to home, based on standard distances traveled as outlined by a service like AAA, or other motor
club route provider.

o Appropriate meals or a reasonable meal allowance to be provided. ($25.00 per day, per diem)

o Lodging to be arranged by and paid for by the event organizer if overnight(s) is required.

o Airline tickets (if required) are to be arranged and paid for by the event organizer after review with
the assigned DQP(s).

o Airport parking fees.

o Inthe event that Show Management miscalculates the number of DQPs needed for the show and
there are more than 150 horse entries per day to be inspected, and only one DQP is hired for the
show, a fee of $5.00 per additional entry will be assessed and paid to the DQP on site.

In order to assist start-up shows, schooling shows, etc. individual DQPs are free to negotiate a lower fee
structure with the organizers of an individual show.

5.3 General Provisions as Related to DQPs

Organizers are required to provide clerical support for the DQP throughout the event. However,
organizers are not obligated to pay for per diem or other expenses for DQP clerical support if the DQP
elects to bring his own record keeper.

The DQP will, in the absence of USDA/APHIS officials who may override his decisions, have the final say
in determining whether or not a horse is or is not in compliance with the Act and whether or not it will be
allowed to be shown, sold, auctioned, or exhibited. Show organizers or management have no part in
making this determination.

DQPs are required to be fully aware of the specific rules promulgated by FOSH Inspection Program, as
well as the specifics of the Act and its amended regulations. If show management requests the DQP to
inspect for specific shoe/class restrictions, it is show management’s responsibility to advise the DQP(s) of
their desires and rules to be applied.

DQPs are required to have a copy of the HPA and its regulations as well as a copy of the FOSH
Inspection program manual, with them during the inspection process.



DQPs are assigned to events by the FOSH Inspection Program administrator after consulting with the
DQP coordinator. Show management may not request by name a particular DQP(s). Reasonable
attempts will be made to assign DQPs within close proximity to an event whenever possible as a means
of reducing the expense involved in affiliating events. Should show managers be willing to assume the
additional costs of an out of area DQP, they may request the assignment of a person from outside the
immediate area and if one is available such a DQP will be sent to the event.

DQPs must report to show management a minimum of one hour before the event commences and should
observe warm-ups and other preparations as appropriate before horses begin to arrive for inspection. If
horses will be arriving the evening before an event, DQPs may, at their option, be on-hand to observe the
unloading, stalling, and exercise of these horses. DQPs may answer questions about the inspection
procedure and about the specifics of the HPA before and after the show, but may not conduct any pre-
show inspections (also known as ‘screening’ ), defined as physically touching the horse and examining it
in a way that would be done at inspection.

DQPs may not provide any other services to show management, during the course of their employment
on the show grounds as inspectors. The only exception to this prohibition is in the event that a DQP is
also a licensed veterinarian, he/she may in the case of a bona fide emergency, with no other veterinarian
readily available, provide such medical assistance as may be required to assist an animal until the arrival
of another veterinarian may be arranged. Requests for such emergency medical attention must come
through show management. Any horse treated by a veterinarian who has been acting as a DQP is
ineligible to compete for the rest of the event and may not be included in the sale, auction, or exhibition.

Show managers must complete a form to authorize emergency vet care from a DQP. The custodian of
the horse must sign the form, agreeing to remove the horse from further participation in the show as a
condition of treatment. While emergency services are being provided, if the show has only one DQP
assigned, the classes must be held until the DQP has completed rendering emergency care and may
return to his/her post in the inspection area.

During the course of the event, if the DQP must leave the inspection/holding area for any reason and
horses are in the holding area; show management must provide an observer to remain in the holding area
to oversee the horses which have already passed through inspection. The observer must remain in the
area until the DQP has returned to his/ her post and must report to the DQP any activity that could require
any or all horses in the holding area to be re-inspected prior to their class. This observer may be the
same individual who is providing clerical assistance for the DQP

6.0 Official Reports

An assigned DQP, upon finding, a horse and/or the owner, trainer, exhibitor, or custodian not be in
compliance with the Act and its amended regulations must immediately notify the designated show
management contact person of his/her findings.

The DQP will proceed to document in an accurate fashion on the form(s) provided for violations, the
reasons why the entry and/or the parties are considered to be in violation of the HPA and its amended
regulations, or of the rules of FOSH Inspection Program, as promulgated in this rule book. The report will
cite the appropriate violation(s) in accordance with the requirements of the HPA.

If available the trainer and the owner of record will be asked to sign the violation citation while in the
designated area for inspections. Exhibitors, with the exception of juvenile riders, will be asked to sign the
violation citation, and in the absence of a trainer or owner, the custodian of the horse will be asked to sign
the violation citation. Absence of any of these signatures does not invalidate the citation.



A DQP who writes a violation citation for an HPA type violation must forward to FOSH Inspection
Program administrator via certified mail within 72 hours of the conclusion of the event, a complete
report. To include as applicable the following information: [DQPs should request a copy of the entry form
from show management in order to double check and verify information included on the report of
violation.

a. The name and address, including street address or post office box and zip code, of the
show and show manager.

b. The name and address, including street address or post office box and zip code, of the
horse owner.

c. The name and address, including street address or post office box and zip code, of the
horse trainer.

d. The name and address, including street address or post office box and zip code, of the
horse exhibitor.

e. The exhibitor's number and class number, or the sale or auction tag number of the
horse.

f. The date and time of the inspection.

g. A detailed description of all the DQP’s findings and the nature of the alleged violation,

or other reason for disqualifying or excusing the horse, including the DQP’s statement
regarding the evidence or facts upon which the decision to disqualify or excuse the horse was
based.

h. The name, age, sex, color and markings of the horse.

i. The name or names of the show manager or other management representative
notified by the DQP that such horse should be excused or disqualified and whether or not such
manager or management representative excused or disqualified the horse.

6.1 Notices of Alleged Violations and Offenses

The DQP, acting under authority delegated by the USDA and as an agent of FOSH Inspection Program ,
may ‘ticket’ alleged violations discovered on entries and attributable to responsible parties for a variety of
violations and offenses. These violations are grouped, for convenience, by severity, and may require
suspensions and/or cash penalties to be assessed as a result of non-compliance. Suspensions will
continue in effect until such time as cash penalties, if assessed, are paid in full. Cash penalties will be
used by FOSH for use in furthering its humane programs and education efforts. The trainer (if applicable),
owner of record, exhibitor and horse shall be assessed the penalties for the appropriate grouping of the
violation.



6.2 HPA Violations

6.2.1 Soring Violations 15 U.S.C. $1824(1) 15 U.S.C. $1824(2)
Horse cannot show for the remainder of the event. Winnings will be forfeited and the class is to
be retied. Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor and horse will receive penalties as follows:

Pressure Shoeing 1st violation - 5 year suspension plus $1000 fine
2nd violation - Life suspension plus $2000 fine

Bilateral Sore 1st violation — 1 year suspension plus $500 fine
2nd violation - 2 year suspension plus $1000 fine
3rd violation - Life suspension plus $2000 fine

Unilateral Sore 1st violation — 60 days suspension
2nd violation - 1 year suspension plus $500 fine
3rd violation - 2 year suspension plus $1000fine
4th violation - Life suspension plus $2000 fine

Scar Rule 1st violation - 2 weeks suspension
2nd violation — 60 days suspension plus $100 fine
3rd violation - 1 year suspension plus $200 fine
4th violation - 2 year suspension plus $500 fine

6.2.2 Suspension Violations

Horse cannot show for the remainder of the event. Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor and horse
will receive penalties as follows:
Each Occurrence - 1 year suspension.

6.2.3 Other HPA Violations 15 U.S.C.$ 1824(7)

lllegal and/or Foreign Substance violations

Pre-show Exam

Post-show Exam

Equipment violations
Pre-show Exam

Post-show Exam

1st violation — Horse is dismissed from the horse show, exhibition sale or
auction.

2nd violation at same event - Disqualified from the event plus 1 month
suspension.

Horse cannot show for the remainder of the event. Winnings will be
forfeited and the class is to be retied. Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor
and horse will receive penalties as follows: each occurrence - 2 month
suspension plus $100 fine.

15 U.S.C.$ 1824(7)
Horse is dismissed from the horse show, exhibition, sale or auction.

Two weeks suspension and the horse cannot show for the remainder of
the event. Winnings will be forfeited and the class is to be retied.
Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor and horse will receive penalties as
follows: Each occurrence - 1 month suspension plus $100 fine.

o Boots or collars weighing more than 6 ounces, except for soft rubber or leather bell boots
used for protective purposes.
o Pads or other devices on yearlings that elevate or change the angle of the heel more than

one inch.



Boots or collars with protrusions or swellings, or rigid, rough, or sharp edges or seams.
FOSH does not allow anything but barefoot on a yearling.

Weights attached to the outside of the hoof wall, horseshoe.

As all bands and stacks are prohibited at a FOSH affiliated show, violations that relate
specifically to these items are not listed individually but will be included as equipment
violations.
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6.2.4 Unruly/Fractious Horse: Non-correctable - Disqualified from the class .
Continuing problem — As this becomes a safety concern for the DQP/VMO - Horse may
not be exhibited for the remainder of the show at the discretion of the DQP or VMO.

6.3 Other Violations of HPA and FOSH Inspection Program Rules
6.3.1 Group A Violations

1st Violation - Warning
2nd Violation at same event - Disqualified from the remainder of the event

o Having unapproved equipment in holding area (buckets, bottles, totes, etc.)
o Touching lower limbs of the horse (from knee to the hoof) after it has been inspected and prior to
entering the event

6.3.2 Group B Violations

1st Violation - Disqualified from Class
2nd Violation at same event - Disqualified from the remainder of the event

o lllegal shoeing (per FOSH/IJA rules)
o Excessive toe length (exceeding 4 inches including the shoe) - (per FOSH /IJA rules)

6.3.2 Group C Violations
Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor and horse will receive penalties as follows:
Winnings will be forfeited and the class is to be retied — Plus

1st Violation - Disqualified from Class
2nd Violation at same event - Disqualified from the remainder of the event plus $200 fine

o Failure to have the horse inspected pre-show
o Failure to report to the DQP immediately after winning class

6.3.3 Group D Violations

Trainer, owner of record, exhibitor and horse will receive penalties as follows:

(In addition to following, if the post-show, winnings will be forfeited and class is to be retied)

The horse is dismissed from the horse show, exhibition, sale or auction and is disqualified from the class
plus:

1st violation - 1 month suspension plus $100 fine

2nd violation - 2 month suspension plus $200 fine

3rd violation - 1 year suspension plus $500 fine

o Stewarding or presenting a horse for inspection in any manner that might cause the horse not to
react to the DQPs examination.



o Plastic wrap on the legs of any horse when arriving or while on the show grounds.
o Artificial extensions of the toe that exceed 50% of natural hoof length.
o Toe length that does not exceed the height of the heel by 1 inch or more

6.3.4 Group E Violations
(In addition to following, if the post-show, winnings will be forfeited and class is to be retied)
Individuals are disqualified from the class and may not show for the remainder of the event, plus

1st violation - 6 month suspension plus $500 fine
2nd violation - 1 year suspension plus $1000 fine

o Refusal to provide the necessary information to DQP

o Refusal to have horse inspected after notification by event management, DQP or USDA

o Refusal to allow the DQP to carry out any inspections to determine compliance with the HPA, its
regulations, or the rules of FOSH Inspection Program

o Giving false information to any official of the event.

o Verbal abuse to anyone representing event management, DQP(s), FOSH Inspection Program
Officials, USDA employees, while they are functioning in any official capacity.

Note: In addition to the above penalties, any refusal to allow USDA personnel to inspect the
horse, providing false information to the USDA or interfering with USDA personnel in the
performance of their official duties will result in a Federal case being initiated against that person
or persons.

6.4 Repeated Violations
Multiple or subsequent violations that incur suspension penalties must be served consecutively.
For example, if the violator received a bilateral sore violation and a scar rule violation at the
same show or a separate show, the violator will have a one year suspension followed by a 2
week suspension.

6.5 Probation Period

This term means the period of time after a suspension is served in which a subsequent violation
becomes cumulative according to the above tables. A probation period of one year will exist for all HPA
and FOSH violations as noted above. Such probation period will commence once a suspension has
been fully served and any subsequent HPA offense received after the end of the probation period shall
be considered a first offense for the offender.

Section 7 Administration of Penalties and Fines, Limited Liability Provisions

7.1 Suspensions: The USDA requires that a suspension notice be issued within 10 days of the violation.
The notice will be sent to the violator by certified and regular mail. All suspensions shall begin no sooner
than the twenty first (21st) day from the date that such natification is mailed as traceable through a postal
receipt, unless a bona fide request for an appeal is received by the FOSH within the twenty (20) day
period. Delays in issuing a notice of suspension or postal delays will not be grounds for invalidating the
notice.

7.2 Serving of Suspension: For purposes of enforcing suspensions only, at the present time the FOSH
Inspection Program defines the show season as beginning March 1st of each calendar year and
continuing through October 31st. Suspensions that total less than one year will be served during the
period of time defined as the ‘show season’. For suspensions that total one year or more, the suspension
will begin on the effective date and will continue for a 12 month period with additional years beginning at



the completion of the initial twelve month suspension period and continuing until the remainder of the time
has been served.

7.3 Location. Ownership and Name Changes as a Factor in Suspension: Regardless of the location
of horse or responsible party. Any fine, suspension or penalty will continue for the prescribed period of
time, until the time is concluded. Should a horse on suspension be sold, leased or traded, or otherwise be
removed from the oversight of the suspended responsible person, the penalties assessed against the
horse will carry over to the new owners and/ or custodians. Further, the horse will continue on suspension
until such time as any outstanding fine has been paid. In the event that a horse on suspension has a
name changed with the breed registry, the responsible parties must notify FOSH Inspection Program, of
the name change and the date the change was registered. Failure to do so will result in the imposition of
an additional 2 month suspension and a $200 fine.

7.4 Corporate Ownership: In the event that a horse is owned by a corporation or limited liability
corporation, all penalties, assessed fines and appeals will apply to the owner (s) of the named
corporation.

7.5 Reciprocal Honoring of Other HIO Suspensions: FOSH Inspection Program will honor and enforce
all suspensions levied by other USDA certified HIOs for violations of the Act.

7.6 Consequences of Post Show Inspection Failures: In the event that violations of the Act or the rules
of FOSH Inspection Program, are discovered in a post-show inspection, the entry so discovered will be
disqualified from the class by show management, all prizes, trophies and points awarded for the category
shall be forfeited and the class retied.

7.7 Use of the Term ‘Sore’: The word ‘sore’ shall only be used by FOSH Inspection Program and its
DQPs, in conjunction with the inspection program, as it is defined by the Act and its amended regulations.

7.8 Limited Exemption from Liability: The Act in Section 1824 (2) (D) does contain a limited exemption
from personal liability for the horse owner who is able to demonstrate that he did not Allow a horse to be
entered or exhibited in an event while sore, as defined in the Act. This exemption applies to owners who
did not participate in the entry, exhibition, sale or auction of a sore horse.

In order to avoid liability for allowing the horse to be shown or sold, the owner must be able to present
credible evidence that he did not participate in the transportation, entry, preparation for showing,
exhibiting, sale or auction and the owner must show that he took affirmative action to prevent his horse
from being sored. Those steps include selecting a trainer whom the owner could reasonably assume
would not be likely to sore his horse; ensuring that the trainer is appraised of the definition of soring as
related in the Act, understands that the owner has forbidden the trainer to sore the horse, and
understands the consequences if he should sore the horse; must periodically check on the horse at the
training facility either through random visits from a licensed veterinarian, not employed by the trainer and
capable of determining whether or not a horse is sore as defined by the Act and/ or unscheduled personal
visits by owner or agent to check on the condition of the horse.

Affirmative Actions can include written instructions and acknowledgments to the trainer from the owner
and from the trainer to the owner; consideration of a trainer’s history of compliance or non-compliance
with the Act; unannounced visits.

7.9 Status of Exhibitors: Any exhibitor, other than a minor, who shows a horse in any show, sale, or
exhibition, if the horse is found to be in violation of the Act, is subject to the receipt of a notice of alleged
violation. This liability applies even if the exhibitor is only a catch rider for the horse found in violation.



Section 8 Appeals. Hearings and Due Process

8.1 Individuals who receive violation citation commonly called tickets from a FOSH DQP for alleged
violations of the Act, its amended regulations or violations of the rules contained in this rule book are
entitled to present a case to a hearing committee of the FOSH Inspection Program, in order to allow the
committee to determine whether or not the ticket will stand as written, be reduced, or be dismissed.
Individuals may choose to be represented by counsel, at their own expense, at such a hearing. None of
the costs of representation at the hearing or costs related to the appearance at the hearing will be
reimbursed to the individual who has been charged.

FOSH Inspection Program reserves the right to name the members of this hearing committee and has
both jurisdiction and authority under the authority granted by the USDA to hear the appeal, render a
decision and forward that decision on to the USDA/ APHIS.

Should an individual desire to appeal a ticket that has been issued, they have twenty (20) days from the
date of the mailing of the notice of suspension or penalty based on the date of the postal receipt, to
request, in writing, an appeal hearing from FOSH Inspection Program. If no request for an appeal is
received by FOSH Inspection Program, in the appropriate period of time, no appeal will be granted and
the suspension will begin automatically on the twenty-first (21st) day after the date of the mailing of the
notice of suspension or the date indicated in the suspension notice.

Requests for an appeal hearing must be forwarded to FOSH Inspection Program to the address indicated
in the suspension notice, and accompanied by a postal draft or cashier's check for Three Thousand, Five
Hundred Dollars ($3500.00), made payable to FOSH Inspection Program. Appeals received without the
filing fee will be considered not to have been made in the appropriate time window. Appeals must note
the specific reasons why the individual(s) believe that the ticket was inappropriate or incorrectly issued.

FOSH will conduct the appeal process via a conference phone call. Appeals will be scheduled for period
within thirty (30) days of receipt of the request for an appeal. All identified parties including the
respondent(s), and the APHIS Horse Protection Coordinator will be notified by certified mail as to the
date, time and particulars of the conference call at least ten (10) days in advance of such conference call.
In the event that the appeal is decided in favor of the individual charged with the violation, the appeal fee
will be refunded in total. If the appeal results in a reduction in penalty or fine, half of the appeal fee will be
returned. In order to safeguard the time line for appeals, individuals are requested to send requests via
certified mail, although this is not required. Requests for appeal forwarded by e-mail, fax communication,
telephone or telegraph are not allowable.

FOSH must submit to USDA their decisions for ticket appeals within 30 days of the appeal decision
completion. Violators will need to have the appeal process completed or begin observing the imposed
penalty within 60 days of the date of the violation.

Individuals desiring to appeal a violation must file a request on their own behalf. No person may ask for a
hearing on behalf of another person. All individuals charged with violations have the right to appear
before the enforcement committee and to bring forth witnesses to testify on their behalf.

8.2 The decision of the hearing committee will be mailed to the respondent via certified mail within ten
(10) days of the completion of the hearing.

FOSH Inspection Program will name the three individuals who will set on the hearing committee and
render a decision on the appeal. The committee will be comprised of an attorney, a licensed DQP, and a
third member of the corporation's choosing. A record of the deliberations will be maintained by the FOSH
Inspection Program for the length of the suspension awarded to any individual(s) whose tickets are
upheld by the committee.



N.B. For the purposes of this HIO, all violations, offenses, and suspensions apply equally to the
applicable trainer, the owner (s) of record, the horse and the exhibitor (with the exception of
minors, those under the age of 18 at the time of the violation).

8.3 Show or Event Managers

Show or event managers will forward all information that they may have relating to violations to FOSH
Inspection Program for possible use in appeal hearings. This must be done within 7 working days of
completion of the event.

8.4 Frivolous Appeals

If the members of the committee should decide that an appeal has been filed for the purpose of keeping a
person or horse eligible for show ring competition during the waiting period for the appeal. FOSH
Inspection Program will levy additional penalties against the horse and/ or person filing said request for
the appeal.

8.5 Waiver of appeal Rights

In order to not delay the beginning of a suspension period, Violators have the option of signing a Waiver
of their Appeal Rights at the time of the violation. If they elect to sign this waiver, the suspension period
will effectively begin immediately. This Option is not available if the nature of the violation requires
payment of a fine.

Section 9. Actions against a DQP
Section 9.1 Request by APHIS for issuance of Letter of Warning (LOW).

A letter of warning (LOW) is an official notice of unsatisfactory DQP performance. A LOW may be
requested by a VMO or other APHIS official when it has been determined that a DQP has failed to
perform their duties in a satisfactory manner. .A LOW shall be issued by FOSH to the DQP within two
weeks of having received written notice from APHIS of a DQP’s poor or unsatisfactory performance.
While it is not FOSH’s intention to dispute the findings of the VMO or other APHIS officials, it is
understood that there is a two week window for FOSH to submit any evidence or documentation for
APHIS to review in determining if the request for the LOW shall be upheld.

Upon receipt of the notice from APHIS for the LOW to be issued, the license of the DQP will be
immediately suspended, pending the resolution of any appeal process that might be initiated. In the event
that the request for the LOW is upheld, the license of the DQP will be suspended for a minimum of forty-
five (45) days (first occurrence). On any subsequent request from APHIS for a LOW , the license of the
DQP will be cancelled and will not be renewed by FOSH.

Section 9.2. Protest and Charges Filed against a DQP for Misconduct

Individuals who present horses for inspection before a DQP licensed by FOSH have the right to expect
courtesy from the inspector and consistency in inspection procedures. Thus, individuals who feel that they
have been inappropriately dealt with by a DQP have the right to file a protest alleging misconduct. Issuing
a Violation Citation is not in itself grounds for initiating an action for misconduct. Protests regarding the
performance or personal conduct of DQPs must be received by FOSH within seven (7) working days of
the event and must be accompanied by a Five Hundred Dollar ($500 fee), payable by postal money order
or cashier’s check.



If the complaint is found to be valid the protest fee will be returned in full to the person who filed the
complaint. The DQP coordinator, after making an initial assessment of the alleged misconduct, will
attempt to reassign DQPs to cover shows, pending the outcome of the hearing on the protest. A hearing
committee, consisting of three members of the corporation’s choosing, one of which must be FOSH
Inspection Program DQP coordinator, (unless he or she is the subject of the complaint, in which event
another senior DQP will be assigned) will hear the facts in the complaint and will render a decision within
ten(10) days of the hearing.

The DQP and the complainant have a right to appear at the hearing and to call witnesses both in defense
of conduct and to support the complaint. The hearing process will be conducted via a conference phone
call. The procedure for calling a hearing for misconduct shall be as outlined above for other types of
hearings. The APHIS Horse Protection Coordinator will also be notified of the hearing date at least seven
(7) working days in advance.

The decision in a DQP misconduct hearing will be final at the hearing committee level. Any finding of
misconduct will result in the immediate termination of the DQP license. The names of DQPs who have
licenses removed for any reason, either as a result of a hearing committee action resulting from a charge
of misconduct, or for other reasons as outlined previously in this manual, will be released to the public via
a news release that will outline the specifics of the decision to withdraw the license.

Should the hearing committee not find cause to remove a license, but finds sufficient cause to issue a
letter of warning to the DQP, such a letter will be sent within ten (10) days of the hearing to the DQP in
question, and a copy to the complainant. Additionally, a letter of warning will require a minimum forty-five
(45) day suspension of the license. A second letter of warning for similar or related behavior will result in
termination of the DQP license.

The suspension of the DQP license for any reason will be reported to the APHIS Horse Protection
Coordinator by certified mail, along with a written report of the proceedings forwarded by FOSH
Inspection Program.

Section 9.3. Appeal of Revoking or Cancellation of DQP license.

In the event that a DQP’s license is cancelled or revoked by FOSH, the DQP does have a right to appeal
this action to the APHIS Administrator 9 CFR Section 11.7(f)(1). If the APHIS Administrator finds
insufficient cause to cancel the license, FOSH will reinstate the license.

Section 10. Responsibilities for Organizations Affiliating with FOSH Inspection Program .

Event managers are advised to review the entire section 4 of this manual which enumerates the scope of
authority of the DQP, the requirements for the inspection area, inspection process, the outline of the scar
rule, and prohibited items.

Event managers who engage FOSH Inspection Program to provide DQP services are considered to be
affiliated organizations and will abide by all rules and regulations of FOSH Inspection Program . This
means that such organization agrees to abide with all of the provisions of the Act. The event manager will
publish the affiliation of event with FOSH Inspection Program on its show programs.

Event managers agree as a condition of affiliation that the DQP is the sole authority in the inspection
area, unless USDA personnel are in attendance, and they further agree not to interfere with the
inspection process in any way. Any information requested of show management by the DQP must be
presented in a timely manner.



Event managers will not disclose the identity of the DQPs to exhibitors prior to the show.

Should USDA personnel arrive at an FOSH Inspection Program affiliated event, organizers agree to
provide them with access to records or any other service that they may require in the performance of their
official duties.

At a minimum, event organizers must provide the following for FOSH Inspection Program assigned
DQPs:
o Clerical support, unless the DQP provides his own support.
Shelter from the elements and appropriate lighting if the event will continue past sunset
A secure holding area separate from the inspection area but viewable by the DQP
In the event of a large show, a designated observer in the holding area other than the DQP
Tables and chairs as required to support the clerical worker and to afford the DQP a place to
relax when possible
A minimum of a half hour lunch and an appropriate dinner break for the DQP.
o Copies of the class sheets from each event with complete identification information for each
horse and rider/trainer/owner
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Section 11 Refusal to Re-affiliate or to Affiliate

FOSH Inspection Program reserves the right to refuse to affiliate or to re-affiliate any event where the
event organizers have failed to comply with the provisions of the Act, its amended regulations and the
rule book of FOSH Inspection Program; where fees for services have not been paid; where the DQP has
been interfered with in the performance of his duties; where USDA representatives have not been treated
appropriately; where records from the event have not been made available; where support services for
the DQP have been inadequately provided; where the DQP was not paid his fee and other expenses in a
timely manner; or where event organizers express concerns about ensuring complete compliance with
the Act and its amended regulations.

Section 12 Relationships with Other Certified HIOs

FOSH Inspection Program will cooperate with all other USDA certified HIOs in enforcing HPA
suspensions, and in making available the names of its licensed inspectors. FOSH Inspection Program will
also make its initial and annual training programs available for participation by DQPs from any other
USDA certified inspection program who wish to avail themselves of such training and will provide
certificates of completion to the home program if requested or required.

Section 13. Record Keeping

The administrator for FOSH Inspection Program will keep all records in his/her possession and will make
them available for presentation to the federal auditor each year. These records include but are not limited
to: copies of the personality profile for each DQP; copies of the examinations for each DQP; copy of the
current rule book for FOSH Inspection Program; copy of the organizational structure for FOSH Inspection
Program and the officers of the organization; copies of all notices of alleged violations and copies of
supporting documents; copies of all show records by class showing both pre and post inspection
numbers; copies of the after action reports of each DQP and the post show critique by show managers;
copies of all requests to affiliate shows. The records shall be maintained in separate folders for each
activity, with all paperwork relating to each show, sale or exhibition, contained therein.



DQPs are responsible for the forwarding of all post show records. A DQP may not be assigned to a
follow-on activity if the paperwork from a prior assignment has not been completed and forwarded to the
Administrator.

Copies of each year’s audit results will be retained by the Records Administrator. Records for each
reporting year will be retained for five years and may then be destroyed.

FOSH officers, and representatives are reminded that the intentional telling of a falsehood to a federal
auditor is a crime. All questions at audit are to be answered fully, accurately and to the fullest extent
possible.

Appendix A: IJA Shoeing Regulations
Copied of Article 4 of IJA Rulebook

401 General Shoeing Information

The intent of the FOSH program is to progress to the point where horses are evaluated on the basis of
what they do (way of going) rather than on the arbitrary distinction of how they are shod. FOSH is
committed to shoeing practices that correspond with the protection of the horse’s foot and structure rather
than the use of the shoe as a gait enhancer or “action device”.

o The largest permissible shoe at any FOSH sanctioned show will be the 1 inch shoe and it will only
be allowed on horses four years of age and over and in specified divisions.

o Any shoeing practice that detracts from the integrity of the animal’s foot or that is done with the
intent of creating exaggerated performance is prohibited at FOSH sanctioned events.

o The shoe must fit the horse’s natural foot. The foot cannot be filed away to give the appearance

of a smaller foot nor can it be vised to fit a smaller shoe size. Contracted heels will be scrutinized

by judges and penalized if there is a suspicion that the contraction has resulted in a “sensitive”
foot.

No additional weight is allowed on or in the hoof, or added to or concealed in the shoe. The horse

may wear only a properly forged shoe attached with nails and no bands.

Borium not to exceed 1/8 “ in thickness is permitted on the shoe.

Welded on clips are not permitted. Clips that are drawn from the shoe itself are permitted.

In all gaited horse classes pads, including rim pads, and bands are prohibited.

Bar shoes are prohibited, unless required for therapeutic purposes. See Article 406

The toe length must not exceed 42 inches including the shoe in any division.

In accordance with the USDA heel/toe ratio, the toe length must exceed the height of the heel by

1 inch or more. The length of the toe will be measured, with the horse standing on a flat surface,

from the coronary band at the center of the anterior portion of the hoof, following the angle of the

hoof, to the ground and will include the shoe. Height of the heel will be measured, with the horse
standing on a flat surface, from the most lateral portion of the rear pastern, at a 90 degree angle
to the ground and must include the shoe.

o The size and type of shoes allowed in FOSH sanctioned competition is to be determined by show
management and must be listed on show programs.

o Horses exhibited at FOSH sanctioned events are to be shod in accordance with accepted
principles of farrier science in order to protect the animal’s feet and to ensure correct footfall,
rather than primarily to enhance performance.

o FOSH sanctioned shows do not allow timeouts for thrown shoes in classes. Exhibitors whose
horses throw shoes may elect to be excused from the ring or to complete the class minus a shoe.
Shoes that are thrown in the ring will be presented to the DQP at the conclusion of the class for
inspection.

o As of January 1, 2010 the Natural Balance Shoe is permissible in all classes.

o Asof January 1, 2011 the maximum shoe allowed at FOSH sanctioned shows is the Lite Shoe as
described. The 1 inch shoe will no longer be acceptable.
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402 Keg Shoes

Unaltered factory made shoes of the sort normally referred to as a keg shoe are permissible with the
exception of toe weighted shoes, like the Diamond Toe Weight. Material in the keg shoe must be of a
consistent type. Only clips drawn from the shoe itself are permitted. No additional weight can be added to
the shoe-no pieces of shoe can be cut off, nor can anything be welded or added to the shoe. A heeled
shoe is permitted but trailers on keg shoes are prohibited. No turned back caulks, only poured caulks on
the originally manufactured shoe allowed. Rear sliding plates used on reining horses will be allowed in all
classes provided that the horse is entered in a reining class at that competition. Keg shoes are allowed in
all divisions. The wide web keg (machine made) shoe is allowed in all classes that allow keg
shoes.

403 Lite Shod Shoe

On both front and rear hooves, the (hand-made) lite shod shoe must be no wider than % inch and no
thicker than 3/8 inch. No bare plate or additional weight will be allowed inside the shoe or attached in any
way that meets the hoof. A caulk is permissible but it must be no thicker than % inch. The turn back must
not exceed 1 inch, measured from the forward edge of the caulk to the inside fold of the caulk. The shoe
must not extend more than Yz inch beyond the hoof at the toe. Trailers no longer than %z inch in length
(measured from the point the trailer turns away from the shoe to the end of the trailer on the short side of
the trailer) are permitted on hind shoes. The entire shoe including the caulk or trailer is not to extend
behind the bulb of the horse’s heel when a perpendicular line is drawn from the bulb of the heel to the
ground.

404 The 1 Inch Shoe

On both front and rear hooves, the (hand-made) 1 inch shoe must be no wider than 1 inch and no thicker
than %z inch. No bare plate or additional weight will be allowed inside the shoe or attached in any way that
meets the hoof. A caulk is permissible but it must be no thicker than 1 inch. The turn back must not
exceed 1 inch, measured from the forward edge of the caulk to the inside fold of the caulk. The shoe must
not extend more than % inch beyond the hoof at the toe. Trailers no longer than 1 inch in length
(measured from the point the trailer turns away from the shoe to the end of the trailer on the short side of
the trailer) are permitted on hind shoes. The entire shoe including the caulk or trailer is not to extend
behind the bulb of the horse’s heel when a perpendicular line is drawn from the bulb of the heel to the
ground. A horse must be 4 years or older to exhibit with the 1 inch shoe.

405 Exhibition of Weanlings and Yearlings
Weanlings and yearlings exhibited at FOSH sanctioned events must be shown barefoot with a toe that
does not exceed 3.5 inches in length.

406 Therapeutic Shoeing

In an attempt to allow horses with conditions like navicular or complications from founder to compete in a
comfortable manner, therapeutic shoeing may be permitted on a case-by-case basis. In all gaited horse
classes pads, including rim pads, and bands are prohibited. Bar shoes are prohibited, unless required for
therapeutic purposes. Contact the IJA Director of Judges for a Request for Therapeutic Shoeing
Dispensation.

407 Use of Repair Materials

Occasionally due to normal wear and tear or injury, the use of bondable materials like acrylics are
required to return the hoof to a condition where it can retain a horseshoe. Acrylics or fillers are prohibited
for the artificial extension of toes. The use of materials is permissible for hoof repair. Such repairs cannot
exceed more than 25% of the total surface of the foot. On a foot where an acrylic or filler repair has been
made, black hoof polish cannot be applied in order to allow the DQP to scrutinize the repair to ensure
compliance with this rule.



408 Hoof Polish
Hoof polish is not a consideration in judging. Clean, healthy hooves are preferred. Clear hoof polish is
allowed but not required. Black hoof polish is not prohibited, except as restricted in Article 407.

409 Removal of Shoes and Casting of Shoes

If a shoe is cast or removed and the shoe is in violation of the FOSH regulations for shoeing, the entry will
be disqualified for the remainder of the competition and all entry fees, prizes and awards will be forfeited.
The cost of removal of any protested or contested shoe, or of any shoe found on a horse suspected by
the DQP or VMO of being pressure shod, is the responsibility of the owner. If the protest is not upheld,
the individual filing the protest will reimburse the owner or gent up to $25 to cover the replacement of the
contested shoe. The owner will bear the cost of removal and replacement of a shoe challenged by a DQP
or VMO regardless of the outcome of the challenge.

If the owner or agent refuses to allow a shoe to be pulled, the entry is disqualified from any further
participation at the competition, all awards and prizes in the competition are forfeited, and all fees are
forfeited.

410 Tungsten Shoes

Tungsten shoes or any other similar excessive weight shoes will NOT be permitted at FOSH sanctioned
shows, even if they measure legal as either a lite-shod or 1 inch shoe.

The weight of these shoes, as reported by the USDA, is far in excess of either lite-shod, 1” or traditional
heavy shod 1 %2 “ shoes. While this type of shoe may meet the dimensions of the traditional lite-shod
shoe, allowing a shoe of this excessive weight to be used in a lite-shod class would not meet the intended
spirit of the definition of a ‘lite-shod’ shoe.




Appendix C: Forms
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Request for Certification as a DQP for FOSH
Request for Renewal of FOSH DQP License
Examination Checklist to support Violation Citation
Violation Citation

Notice of Waiver on Violation Citation

DQP After Event Report

Request to Affiliate Horse Show

Responsibilities of Event Management

Show Management After Event Report



