PLEASE NOTE: The following information is provided by USDA APHIS Veterinary Services, Texas Export Section. While much
of the information will apply to everyone, some is specific to Texas only. If you are in another state, please contact your local USDA
Area Office [click on the map or here ] for specific information.

Export of Horses from the United States to Canada

UPDATE JUNE 2014: Canada is currently NOT accepting horses from Texas due to the
cases of Vesicular Stomatitis. Canadian origin horses RETURNING after less than 60 days in
the U.S. are exempted. Please contact our office for requirements for returning Canadian
origin horses.

Download the file needed to get your animal into the country
e Go to www.aphis.usda.gov and follow the links in the left column — please note our website
is undergoing constant change and previously bookmarked links very well may not work —
at the time of preparing this document the link here takes you directly to the animal export
IREGS.
e Click on Canada. Select “more” at the bottom of the page, then on the next page select the
equine category.

Documents required by the USDA’s Office

e Original health certificate (17-145 or 17-140), preferably typed, with an original signature.

e Original tests results as required. The tests must be signed in blue ink by the veterinarian
submitting the certificate. Only original laboratory reports will be returned.

e Copy of import permit issued by CFIA. This permit must be obtained from Canada — please
visit the CFIA website for more information:
http://www.inspection.gc.ca/animals/terrestrial-animals/imports/permit-
application/eng/1374511671189/1374511696513

Completing the health certificate Form VS 17-145
e Ensure the box for the type of export is checked (permanent vs temporary).

Ensure the place of origin is Texas and all addresses are completed.

The name and address of the consignee must include the Canadian zip code.

Ensure only one certification statement is checked (either 2, 3 or 4).

Check that the correct type of test, ELISA or AGID, is listed on the certificate. If an ELISA

was done, draw a single line through “agar gel immunodiffusion (Coggins)” and write

“ELISA” above it.

e The “date blood sample drawn” must match the “date blood sample drawn” on the Coggins.
Coggins must be within 6 months of export. Coggins are not required for nursing foals up to
5 months of age exported with dam.

e The date the veterinarian signed the certificate (the date of examination) must be within 15
days of export for horses from Texas.

e Write the page number on the right hand side of the box titled Health Certificate Number.
For example: Page 1 of 2.

e Canada has additional declaration statements that must be on the certificate for horses
originating in Texas. Review the Texas Area Office website for updates. Submit a signed
page 2 for each horse. Make sure to date the signature on page 2 with the same date as page
1 (which should be the exam date).
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Export of Horses from the United States to Canada (continued)

All horses (regardless of age) must be tested for piroplasmosis within 15 days of entering
Canada. TVMDL or NVSL may run this test. Please be sure the lab tests for both
organisms Babesia caballi and Babesia (Theileria) equi using the cCELISA. Enter the date
the horse was bled on page 2 in the appropriate location. Submit a signed copy of the lab
report or the original TAHC piro form showing negative results.

The veterinarian should list the age in years or by DOB. The age may be listed in months.
For example: 10y or 120m or 4/5/2000. Use the same format as on the EIA test chart
(Coggins).

The written description and drawing of the markings on the horse silhouette must match the
EIA test chart. All markings on both silhouettes are usually the same unless you can only
see the markings from one side or the description states "partial™ or "lateral”. Do not forget
to mark the anterior and posterior silhouettes.

A photocopy of the Coggins is accepted with the original veterinarian’s signature, preferably
in blue ink. Written description is mandatory on Coggins, photographs alone are not
acceptable.

Electronic Coggins are accepted with electronic signatures.

When to use VS 17-140 vs VS 17-145: You may only use the 17-140 if the following is true - All

horses must be from a single consignor, they must be consigned to the same destination, and they
must come from the same premises of origin. Additionally, each horse must be identified on the 17-
140 with a written description, and the current EIA test charts must be attached to the 17-140.

Completing the health certificate Form VS 17-140

Ensure the form is complete

Common errors include missing information from the following blocks:

Block 3: Ensure the correct page number is listed. Ex: Pg 1 of 2.

Block 4: This is the date the veterinarian completed the inspection.

Block 5: U.S. Port of Embarkation must be completed.

Blocks 6 and 13: Ensure a FIPS State code is used. These are listed on the back of the form.
Block 9: Ensure the species is indicated.

Block 16: Destination Country and Code must be listed.

Block 18: The description on the Coggins must match the description on the certificate.
Block 18: The veterinarian should list the age in months. The age will be accepted if it is
listed by years. For example: 10 yrs or 120 months.

A photocopy of the Coggins is accepted with the original veterinarian’s signature, preferably
in blue ink.

Electronic Coggins are accepted with electronic signatures
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Export of Horses from the United States to Canada (continued)

Fee Schedule for endorsement by USDA: Endorsement fee $60.00 for each VS 17-145
certificate. If using the 17-140, the fee is $60.00 for the first animal and $7.00 for each additional
animal on the same certificate.

Make checks and money orders payable to: USDA, APHIS. All credit cards are accepted. Cash is
not accepted. Please include a driver’s license number on all checks.

Send your certificate(s) and payment to:
USDA, APHIS VS, 903 San Jacinto Blvd, Export Section, Room 262, Austin, TX 78701
ONLY SEND CERTIFICATES HERE IF SIGNED BY A TEXAS VETERINARIAN

Completed certificates will be returned to you by regular mail unless a prepaid, preaddressed,
(addressed from you to you), air bill is provided. WE CANNOT ACCEPT A HANDWRITTEN
LABEL UNLESS THERE IS AN ACCOUNT NUMBER LISTED FOR PAYMENT. Always
keep the tracking numbers so you can check with the delivery service to find out the status of your
documents.

Walk-ins

We accept walk-ins between 7:30am and 11:30am. We can also either call you when your
documents are completed or you may leave a prepaid, pre-addressed return air bill. Our office is
open from 7:30am to 4:00pm M-F.

Contact Information — TEXAS CLIENTS ONLY!

Phone: 512-383-2411 Fax: 512 -916-5591 E-mail: expcerttx@aphis.usda.gov
Website: click here (if the link doesn’t work please contact us for a current link)
If you are in another state, please click here to locate correct contact information.
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