APHIS HomeAbout APHISNewsroomCareer OpportunitiesHelpContact Us
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size
USDA in Facebook APHIS in Twitter APHIS in Youtube APHIS Stakeholder Registry APHIS in Pictures APHIS in Blog APHIS RSS News Feeds

Browse by Subject
Animal Health
Animal Welfare
Emergency Preparedness and Response
Import and Export
International Services
Plant Health
Regulations and Assessments
APHIS User Fees
Wildlife Control and Management

Printable version

Corey Slavitt (301) 734-8563
Jerry Redding (202) 720-4623


WASHINGTON, June 1, 2006–The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of 20 members with a broad array of agricultural, animal welfare and wildlife interests to serve on the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (NWSAC). Members will serve their appointments through Sept. 8, 2007.

During their terms, the committee members will advise USDA on the activities and policies of wildlife services, a program within USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.

Nominations for individuals to serve on the committee were received from interested organizations, the academic community, stakeholder groups, individuals and other related parties. Committee members can serve up to three consecutive terms.

Twelve former members still eligible for membership were reappointed to the committee along with eight new members.

The returning 2006 NWSAC members are: Joel Alderete, of the New Mexico Farm and Livestock Bureau; Nina Baucus, a Montana rancher; John Baxter, a representative of the aquaculture industry; Seniora Burdette, an urban wildlife representative; Cathy Liss, a representative of the Animal Welfare Institute; Debra Miller, a representative of wildlife health interests; Bruce Morrison, a representative of wildlife management interests; Ira New Breast, of the Blackfeet Tribe; John Ostrom, a representative of the aviation industry; Maurice Shelton, a representative of the American Sheep Industry and a Texas rancher; Patti Strand, a representative of the American Sheep Industry and Hugh Warren, a representative of the aquaculture industry.

The new 2006 NWSAC members are: John Baughman, a representative of fish and wildlife agencies; Scott Bender, of the Navajo Nation; Karen Brasted, of the Humane Society of the United States; Robert Frost, a representative of the animal health industry; Joel Kretz, of the Washington State Farm Bureau; David LaCour, a representative of the rice growers industry; Bryce Reese, a representative of the sheep and goat industry and Scott Steckel, a representative of the pest control industry.


Note to Reporters: USDA news releases, program announcements and media advisories are available on the Internet. Go to the APHIS news release page at http://www.aphis.usda.gov/lpa/newsroom. Also, anyone with an e-mail address can sign up to receive APHIS press releases automatically. Send an e-mail message to lyris@mdrdlyriss10.aphis.usda.gov and leave the subject blank. In the message, type subscribe press_releases.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]