APHIS HomeAbout APHISNewsroomCareer OpportunitiesHelpContact Us
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size
USDA in Facebook APHIS in Twitter APHIS in Youtube APHIS Stakeholder Registry APHIS in Pictures APHIS in Blog APHIS RSS News Feeds

Browse by Subject
Animal Health
Animal Welfare
Emergency Preparedness and Response
Import and Export
International Services
Plant Health
Regulations and Assessments
APHIS User Fees
Wildlife Control and Management
USDA Appoints National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee Members

Printable version

Carol Bannerman (301) 851-4093
Lyndsay Cole (970) 494-7410

USDA Appoints National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee Members

WASHINGTON, Dec. 4, 2012 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of 15 members to the re-established National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (NWSAC).  Membership represents a broad range of agricultural, animal welfare and wildlife interests. USDA is continuing outreach to solicit nominations for five additional members.

During their terms, the Committee members will advise USDA on the activities and policies of wildlife services (WS), a program within the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. Selected candidates represent a spectrum of agricultural, environmental, conservation, academic, animal welfare, and related interests.  The Committee serves as a public forum enabling those affected by the WS program to have a voice in the program’s policies.

Serving their first appointment on the advisory board are: Kenneth Wilson, Colorado State University; Daniel Sullivan, U.S. Air Force BASH Team; Charles Williamson, National Aquaculture Association;  Reginal Herman, National Sunflower Association; Joel Dennis, American Sheep Industry; Burdell Johnson, Farming/Sheep Industry;  Joseph Lanham, National Wildlife Control Operators Association; and Ronald Regan, Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies. 

Previously serving advisors selected for re-appointment are: Karen Elaine “Maggie” Brasted, Humane Society of the United States; Howard Dew, Oregon Forest Industries Council; Andrea Lococo, Animal Welfare Institute; Scott Steckel, National Pest Management Association; Dr. Scott Bender, Navajo Nation; Dr. Stephen Schmitt, American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians and Michigan Department of Natural Resources; and Bryce Reese, Wyoming Wool Growers. 

Nominations for individuals to serve on the committee were received from interested organizations, the academic community, stakeholder groups, individuals and others. Outreach to more than 100 various cultural groups was conducted.  Efforts continue to recruit from diverse groups and interests for the final five members. 


Note to Reporters:  USDA news releases, program announcements and media advisories are available on the Internet and through Really Simple Syndication (RSS) feeds.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.  To file a complaint of discrimination, write:  USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., SW., Washington, DC  20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).


[an error occurred while processing this directive]