Skip to main content
Plant Health Quadrilateral Group

Plant Health Quadrilaterals Group

The Plant Health Quadrilaterals (PHQuads) Group is a strategic coalition composed of the national plant protection organizations of the United States, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand. It is not an official treaty organization, but an informal alliance.

PPQ works with the PHQuads countries to:

  • coordinate priorities and positions for International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) standards
  • promote and secure international collaboration in various areas of plant protection
  • influence the work of the IPPC and the future development of standards, including international phytosanitary policy and emerging issues
  • collaborate in the area of science and technical information exchange, including technical resources, such as diagnostic technologies
  • The PHQuads has developed a strategic plan and terms of reference. The PHQuads also has progressed work on implementation and joint Asia and Pacific Plant Protection Commission (APPPC) and North American Plant Protection Organization (NAPPO) workshops on wood and surveillance.

  • The PHQuads’ priorities for standards are:

    • electronic phytosanitary certification (ePhyto) and hub concept
    • risk management
    • wood handicrafts
    • grain
    • risk-based sampling
    • surveillance

    For more information about the Plant Health Quadrilaterals Group, contact Stephanie Dubon, Deputy Technical Director of International Phytosanitary Standards, at


    Complementary Content